My SellerDeck Account | Newsletter | Free Trial

Community and Knowledge Base

  #1  
Old 04-Apr-2012, 10:55 AM
Foyowa Foyowa is offline
Registered User
Join Date: May 2011
Full Name: DRM
Posts: 70
Thanks: 6
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Site test please

Hi, I would appreciate if someone could test a site by putting items in basket and following the checkout until payment as the site seems to be really slow for me. You can put xxx in fields.

The site is www.supplementwarehouse.co.uk

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-Apr-2012, 11:09 AM
leehack's Avatar
leehack leehack is offline
Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2005
Full Name: Lee Hackett
Posts: 15,205
Thanks: 224
Thanked 484 Times in 425 Posts
Yep really slow for me, adding to cart is enough to make me leave. Make sure you are not skimping on poor hosting, with that much code on a page, you need top hosting, working very fast. Your menu will be adding a huge amount of html in the background. Make sure you have no coding errors too, some weird underlining going on, usually a sign of incorrect coding.

PS all those brands and no SiS?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-Apr-2012, 04:17 PM
fergusw's Avatar
fergusw fergusw is offline
Registered User
Join Date: Mar 2004
Full Name: Fergus Weir
Posts: 1,544
Thanks: 51
Thanked 92 Times in 76 Posts
Server processing speeds through the CGI-BIN are particularly slow on your site.
Your hosting company should really be checking the required Actinic server modules are installed to ensure the fastest possible processing.
The checkout should almost be as fast as the HTML pages when they are served!
__________________
Fergus Weir - teclan ltd
Ecommerce Digital Marketing

SellerDeck Responsive Web Design

SellerDeck Hosting
SellerDeck Digital Marketing
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-Apr-2012, 10:06 AM
RoofingWarehous RoofingWarehous is offline
Registered User
Join Date: Dec 2011
Full Name: David Ganney
Posts: 167
Thanks: 13
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Who are you hosting with? If its GoDaddy, cancel it and never visit there site again.

I use Actinics hosting and im very pleased.

Its fast, UK based, Checkout pages work well, and we are getting orders in most days already.

Sage pay works perfect with Actinics hosting too, something that you can have problems with using other hosting.

Be careful picking hosting, companys like 1&1 use servers in Germany, GoDaddy use Dutch servers, you want fast, reliable UK based servers.

Im not an expert but i hope that helps.
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to RoofingWarehous For This Useful Post:
leehack (05-Apr-2012)
  #5  
Old 05-Apr-2012, 10:22 AM
Foyowa Foyowa is offline
Registered User
Join Date: May 2011
Full Name: DRM
Posts: 70
Thanks: 6
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I am hosting with Host-It.co.uk. I noticed that this problem started when I created 1000 single use coupons.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-Apr-2012, 10:24 AM
Duncan Rounding's Avatar
Duncan Rounding Duncan Rounding is offline
Administrator
Join Date: Sep 2005
Full Name: Duncan Rounding
Posts: 10,138
Thanks: 76
Thanked 421 Times in 382 Posts
CGI scripts are taking an age to run - you must sort this otherwise every prospect will drop out before even seeing the cart.
__________________
SellerDeck/Actinic Report Modifications - Add your logo to your invoice - email for information
Integrated e-Commerce Web Design
SellerDeck/Actinic Upgrades, Custom Designs, Layout Modifications and General SellerDeck/Actinic Help
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-Apr-2012, 10:25 AM
Duncan Rounding's Avatar
Duncan Rounding Duncan Rounding is offline
Administrator
Join Date: Sep 2005
Full Name: Duncan Rounding
Posts: 10,138
Thanks: 76
Thanked 421 Times in 382 Posts
Have tried removing them again?
__________________
SellerDeck/Actinic Report Modifications - Add your logo to your invoice - email for information
Integrated e-Commerce Web Design
SellerDeck/Actinic Upgrades, Custom Designs, Layout Modifications and General SellerDeck/Actinic Help
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-Apr-2012, 11:03 AM
Foyowa Foyowa is offline
Registered User
Join Date: May 2011
Full Name: DRM
Posts: 70
Thanks: 6
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
It seems that the problem was the coupon codes because I have now deleted all the coupon codes and it works fine.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-Apr-2012, 12:23 PM
Foyowa Foyowa is offline
Registered User
Join Date: May 2011
Full Name: DRM
Posts: 70
Thanks: 6
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Anyone got any idea why this would happen as I would want to create single use coupon codes for future use.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 05-Apr-2012, 12:41 PM
Duncan Rounding's Avatar
Duncan Rounding Duncan Rounding is offline
Administrator
Join Date: Sep 2005
Full Name: Duncan Rounding
Posts: 10,138
Thanks: 76
Thanked 421 Times in 382 Posts
Your hosting could be a restriction. You could try uploading fewer perhaps. There will always be a trade off with speed vs the number of codes.
__________________
SellerDeck/Actinic Report Modifications - Add your logo to your invoice - email for information
Integrated e-Commerce Web Design
SellerDeck/Actinic Upgrades, Custom Designs, Layout Modifications and General SellerDeck/Actinic Help
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 06-Apr-2012, 08:54 AM
Hugh Gibson Hugh Gibson is offline
Administrator
Join Date: Nov 2002
Full Name: Hugh Gibson
Posts: 58
Thanks: 1
Thanked 11 Times in 8 Posts
I don't think there should be that sort of impact with single-use coupon codes.

I'll take a look.

Hugh
CTO - Actinic Software Ltd.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 06-Apr-2012, 09:19 AM
fergusw's Avatar
fergusw fergusw is offline
Registered User
Join Date: Mar 2004
Full Name: Fergus Weir
Posts: 1,544
Thanks: 51
Thanked 92 Times in 76 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by hgibson View Post
I don't think there should be that sort of impact with single-use coupon codes.

I'll take a look.

Hugh
CTO - Actinic Software Ltd.
8 Years between posts Hugh! Wow! That's some kind of forum record?
Back full-time with Actinic?


Foyowa,
For what it's worth I did a quick comparison on our own hosting with a default Actinic site. Without any coupons it was super fast through the checkout. After generating and uploading 1000 coupon codes it was just as super fast.
Then I added another single use coupon with 100,000 codes, uploaded and....... still just as fast.

You can play on this test site on teclan's hosting here:
http://www.teclan.net/demos/breadcrumb/acatalog/Cameras.html


I'd still be looking at a possible hosting issue. Maybe permissions, or some cgi-bin server-side processing issue with files of certain sizes etc.
PM me if you'd like to try the site on other temporary hosting to at least rule the hosting out.
__________________
Fergus Weir - teclan ltd
Ecommerce Digital Marketing

SellerDeck Responsive Web Design

SellerDeck Hosting
SellerDeck Digital Marketing
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 06-Apr-2012, 09:34 AM
Hugh Gibson Hugh Gibson is offline
Administrator
Join Date: Nov 2002
Full Name: Hugh Gibson
Posts: 58
Thanks: 1
Thanked 11 Times in 8 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by fergusw View Post
8 Years between posts Hugh! Wow! That's some kind of forum record?
Back full-time with Actinic?
I was quite pleased that I found my old account; even more pleased that I remembered the password! And also pleased that someone remembered me from the old days (for those that don't know I worked with Actinic from very early times through to about 2002).

I've been back with Actinic for about a year now, helping to deliver some V11 features and planning for the future. I've just been promoted to CTO but I'll continue getting my hands dirty in code.

Quote:
Originally Posted by fergusw View Post
Foyowa,
For what it's worth I did a quick comparison on our own hosting with a default Actinic site. Without any coupons it was super fast through the checkout. After generating and uploading 1000 coupon codes it was just as super fast.
Then I added another single use coupon with 100,000 codes, uploaded and....... still just as fast.

You can play on this test site on teclan's hosting here:
http://www.teclan.net/demos/breadcrumb/acatalog/Cameras.html


I'd still be looking at a possible hosting issue. Maybe permissions, or some cgi-bin server-side processing issue with files of certain sizes etc.
PM me if you'd like to try the site on other temporary hosting to at least rule the hosting out.
Thanks for that Fergus; very helpful.

Hugh
CTO - Actinic Software Ltd
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT. The time now is 02:34 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.