My SellerDeck Account | Newsletter | Free Trial

Community and Knowledge Base

  #1  
Old 23-Jun-2017, 04:07 PM
barry100 barry100 is offline
Registered User
Join Date: Jun 2017
Full Name: barry looker
Posts: 16
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Trouble uploading to Fasthosts

Hi guys
I have just moved a working site from Webfusion to Fasthosts and having lots of problems with the Network settings and CGI scripts.

Has anyone got sites working on the Fasthosts servers new Cluster package on Linux?

I think the issue is to do with the fact that permissions cannot be changed via FTp, only via SSH, so the Sellerdeck software cannot change permissions pf the scripts it uploads and so reports errors.

If anyone knows how to get past this that would be fantastic!

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 24-Jun-2017, 09:26 AM
Mike Hughes Mike Hughes is offline
Registered User
Join Date: Jan 2003
Full Name: Mike Hughes
Posts: 7,910
Thanks: 254
Thanked 419 Times in 370 Posts
I don't know if there are any workarounds. This post from a couple of years ago seems doubtful.

http://community.sellerdeck.com/showthread.php?t=56576
__________________
-----------------------------------------

First Tackle - Fly Fishing and Game Angling

-----------------------------------------
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 24-Jun-2017, 10:04 AM
barry100 barry100 is offline
Registered User
Join Date: Jun 2017
Full Name: barry looker
Posts: 16
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Thanks Mike I have replied to that thread to see if I get a response.

Could this be a permissions issue? What should be the perms of the cgi files? Should they all be 755 as well as the CGI folder?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 24-Jun-2017, 11:28 AM
Mike Hughes Mike Hughes is offline
Registered User
Join Date: Jan 2003
Full Name: Mike Hughes
Posts: 7,910
Thanks: 254
Thanked 419 Times in 370 Posts
It's a while since I looked at permissions but generally 755 is typical for most files.

I suspect the problem might be more than just ftp vs ssh. If I remember correctly I think there are some files that sellerdeck tries to lock up tight with permissions for extra security. Things like the session files and order files in the acatalog folder are given permissions of 600 and I've even seen some at 200.

Reading around the permissions issue and Fasthosts, it sounds as if permissions can only be set that have a '7' in them ( ) and that might turn out to be the cause of the problem. I know it sounds odd but appears to be the result of them separating out the storage from the front end clusters (see this thread here https://help.fasthosts.co.uk/app/com...s/comment/1760 )

Apparently they thought it might be fixed within a couple of months of the post back in February. I don't know if this is the cause of the problem, whether it's been fixed and if it has what the change was. I think it's something you might want to talk to fasthosts about and see if there's any advice they can give.
__________________
-----------------------------------------

First Tackle - Fly Fishing and Game Angling

-----------------------------------------
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Mike Hughes For This Useful Post:
barry100 (24-Jun-2017)
  #5  
Old 24-Jun-2017, 03:24 PM
barry100 barry100 is offline
Registered User
Join Date: Jun 2017
Full Name: barry looker
Posts: 16
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Thanks very much Mike

The problem seems to me that Sellerdeck tries to upload, then change permissions, using FTP. This is now impossible on FH, it must be done via SSH so therefore Sellerdeck fails and the site does not function. Im looking for a manual way to get the job done but having no luck yet.

I'm having a nightmare with this on a live site! So I really appreciate being able to discuss ideas with someone, thanks again for your input
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 25-Jun-2017, 11:18 AM
barry100 barry100 is offline
Registered User
Join Date: Jun 2017
Full Name: barry looker
Posts: 16
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Things are progressing a little.

The network set up wizard now fails after the email test routine. The message I get is:

"An error occurred while sending a HTTP request to the server.
Perhaps your network is down.
or the webserver is down. Try again or contact your network admin or ISP to correct the situation."

This is confusing as the network is fine. HTTP requests are no problem for any browser for example. I am certainly connected to the internet.

I didnt get the message "If your email is set up correctly you should receive a test" message that you would expect at that stage.

Does anyone recognise my problem here?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 25-Jun-2017, 11:55 AM
Mike Hughes Mike Hughes is offline
Registered User
Join Date: Jan 2003
Full Name: Mike Hughes
Posts: 7,910
Thanks: 254
Thanked 419 Times in 370 Posts
Have you manually set the permissions on the sellerdeck directories? The knowledge base suggests this is sometimes required.

http://community.sellerdeck.com/showthread.php?t=45136
__________________
-----------------------------------------

First Tackle - Fly Fishing and Game Angling

-----------------------------------------
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 26-Jun-2017, 11:45 AM
barry100 barry100 is offline
Registered User
Join Date: Jun 2017
Full Name: barry looker
Posts: 16
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Hi Mike and thanks again for the input

I have set the permissions manually of the cgi-bin folder and the acatalog folder. Thats all though, not set perms for any of the files. Should I do you think?

Now the network settings wizard completes and goes through no problem. But, after upload all CGI scripts are giving 500 errors. Baffling!

Any thoughts on that?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 28-Jun-2017, 11:05 AM
barry100 barry100 is offline
Registered User
Join Date: Jun 2017
Full Name: barry looker
Posts: 16
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I have been told today by Fasthosts that the engineers have made some changes and the problems should now be resolved.

Im still having trouble though at the stage where the wizard checks the email server setup, it fails and gives an error stating "An error occurred while sending a HTTP request to the website. Perhaps your network is down. OR the webserver is down"

Well, its not down and the connection is fine.

Does anyone know why this might be happening?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 29-Jun-2017, 01:16 AM
barry100 barry100 is offline
Registered User
Join Date: Jun 2017
Full Name: barry looker
Posts: 16
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Unhappy

Can anyone shed any light on any of these errors please?

[Wed Jun 28 14:59:21.672746 2017] [cgi:error] [pid 43514] [client 18.33.32.42:39934] End of script output before headers: ss000001.pl, referer: http://www.domain.com
[Wed Jun 28 14:59:31.880237 2017] [cgi:error] [pid 43335] [client 18.33.32.42:35294] AH01215: suexec policy violation: see suexec log for more details, referer: http://www.domain.com
[Wed Jun 28 14:59:31.889143 2017] [cgi:error] [pid 43335] [client 18.33.32.42:35294] End of script output before headers: ss000001.pl, referer: http://www.domain.com
[Wed Jun 28 14:59:31.985283 2017] [cgi:error] [pid 43700] [client 18.33.32.42:35312] AH01215: suexec policy violation: see suexec log for more details, referer: http://www.domain.com
[Wed Jun 28 14:59:32.015725 2017] [cgi:error] [pid 43700] [client 18.25.32.42:35312] End of script output before headers: ss000001.pl, referer: http://www.domain.com
[Wed Jun 28 14:59:32.173653 2017] [cgi:error] [pid 43355] [client 18.33.32.42:57788] AH01215: suexec policy violation: see suexec log for more details, referer: http://www.domain.com
[Wed Jun 28 14:59:32.182516 2017] [cgi:error] [pid 43355] [client 18.33.32.42:57788] End of script output before headers: ss000001.pl, referer: http://www.domain.com

Still getting 500 errors on all scripts
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 29-Jun-2017, 01:27 AM
barry100 barry100 is offline
Registered User
Join Date: Jun 2017
Full Name: barry looker
Posts: 16
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Or this one?

[Wed Jun 28 13:37:21.609411 2017] [cgi:error] [pid 23152] [client 82.154.191.97:55960] AH01215: Can't open perl script "\r": No such file or directory
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 29-Jun-2017, 07:33 AM
Mike Hughes Mike Hughes is offline
Registered User
Join Date: Jan 2003
Full Name: Mike Hughes
Posts: 7,910
Thanks: 254
Thanked 419 Times in 370 Posts
Hi Barry,

I suspect there night still be some permissions problems. I did a search for the 'End of script output before headers' errors you're getting and the general consensus seemed to be that this is a permissions problem.

Quote:
This is typically an error that occurs when you are unable to view or execute the file, the reason for which is generally a permissions error.
Quote:
I had exactly the same error on a Linux machine with the wrong permissions set.

chmod 755 myfile.pl

solved the problem.
This also seems to be consistent with the 'suexec policy violation' which can also be related to the permissions setting of the perl scripts.
__________________
-----------------------------------------

First Tackle - Fly Fishing and Game Angling

-----------------------------------------
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 29-Jun-2017, 01:37 PM
barry100 barry100 is offline
Registered User
Join Date: Jun 2017
Full Name: barry looker
Posts: 16
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Thanks Mike
Yes something does seem to be amiss regarding the perms. The way these cluster servers are set up, FTP software cannot read, or change the permissions, only SSH software can.

I hav treble checked the perms via SSH though and they are correct. I wonder though if the issue isnt because the FTP component of SD cannot function like this and is not doing the right thing as it cannot operate in its usual way of uploading files then setting the permissions before carrying on.

NOt getting much help from Fasthosts so Im not sure what to do. Try another host perhaps but this is so urgent now with it being a live site and all.

Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 29-Jun-2017, 03:17 PM
Mike Hughes Mike Hughes is offline
Registered User
Join Date: Jan 2003
Full Name: Mike Hughes
Posts: 7,910
Thanks: 254
Thanked 419 Times in 370 Posts
It's hard to know quite where the trouble is. If the permissions on the files are correct then that suggests they might be being uploaded OK. I can't help wondering if it's the ownership of the scripts and what happens when Sellerdeck tries to change the permissions and whether that is done locally by the perl scripts or remotely via ftp.

Either way I don't know how to solve this. If fasthosts can't help then I'd probably start looking for another host.

One last thought. You could try the advice here http://community.sellerdeck.com/showthread.php?p=351926 for using bitvise to upload using SFTP. that might work.
__________________
-----------------------------------------

First Tackle - Fly Fishing and Game Angling

-----------------------------------------
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 14-Jul-2017, 12:09 PM
logoshed logoshed is offline
Registered User
Join Date: Oct 2010
Full Name: Robert Grenville
Posts: 33
Thanks: 5
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
@barry100 - Ever find a solution that didn't involve changing hosting?

I have exactly the same issues with Fasthosts Cluster package on Linux. I have changed the permissions of cgi-bin and acatalog using SSH and the Wizard runs nicely right up to confirming smtp server. I have tried many possibilities (including websmtp.fasthosts.co.uk) going but cannot get past that point.

Ignoring that and doing a Network Settings Test returns the message 'Actinic received a server error from the web server. The CGI scripts are not executing properly on the server...'

I know there always seems to be problems with installing on a new server, but as you are using the same hosting package wonder if there is anything specific that you found out?
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT. The time now is 03:52 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.