My SellerDeck Account | Newsletter | Free Trial

Community and Knowledge Base

  #31  
Old 30-Jun-2016, 12:31 PM
Mike Hughes Mike Hughes is offline
Registered User
Join Date: Jan 2003
Full Name: Mike Hughes
Posts: 7,963
Thanks: 258
Thanked 442 Times in 390 Posts
Hi Joanna,

Your error log is full of stale lock errors since mid-afternoon yesterday and continuing into today.

I wonder if it's the 1&1 upgrade that's causing them?

Quote:
Program = ORDERSCR, Program version = 25252 , HTTP Server = Apache , Return code = 999 , Date and Time = 2016/06/29 14:48, Internal Errors = -1467211692 file=./acatalog/94Z197Z121Z56A1467211089B4126.session.LCK
Program = ORDERSCR, Program version = 25252 , HTTP Server = Apache , Return code = 999 , Date and Time = 2016/06/29 14:48, Internal Errors = Lock:[739]: Stale lock - forcing removal of
__________________
-----------------------------------------

First Tackle - Fly Fishing and Game Angling

-----------------------------------------
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Mike Hughes For This Useful Post:
Joanna14 (30-Jun-2016)
  #32  
Old 30-Jun-2016, 12:37 PM
Mike Hughes Mike Hughes is offline
Registered User
Join Date: Jan 2003
Full Name: Mike Hughes
Posts: 7,963
Thanks: 258
Thanked 442 Times in 390 Posts
Michael @ Pure Thoughts posted an extract from his error log file which also shows lots of stale lock errors in his thread on this problem here: http://community.sellerdeck.com/showthread.php?p=351932

So this definitely seems to be related to the problem.

Something for sellerdeck to look into.
__________________
-----------------------------------------

First Tackle - Fly Fishing and Game Angling

-----------------------------------------
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Mike Hughes For This Useful Post:
Joanna14 (30-Jun-2016)
  #33  
Old 30-Jun-2016, 01:30 PM
Joanna14 Joanna14 is offline
Registered User
Join Date: Aug 2004
Full Name: Joanna Smith
Posts: 34
Thanks: 8
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
HI Martin and Mike

Thanks both of you for your replies. I'm pleased you are now back up and running Martin, that's a relief. It sounds like no hope if I stick with my set up as it is.

Thanks Mike for the link to the other thread, I hadn't seen it. There must be many people that this will happen to. The problem did start from yesterday afternoon. I am not really too familiar with all that side of things, so it is really tricky and looks like limited options.

Anyway, I will try Host-it and see if it's likely that it can be resolved with them.

It seems really poor that Sellerdeck's only solution is to take their hosting package.

I will give an update soon.

Thanks again
Joanna
Reply With Quote
  #34  
Old 30-Jun-2016, 10:13 PM
Joanna14 Joanna14 is offline
Registered User
Join Date: Aug 2004
Full Name: Joanna Smith
Posts: 34
Thanks: 8
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
OK, here's my update! At 5pm I decided to bite the bullet and change hosting providers. I called 1and1 who were very helpful and even though I was in contract said that they would cancel pro-rata as it's not my fault that the website software will not take the new upgrade. I wanted to keep the domain and mail with them for the time being to ensure a quick turnaround. So they put the domain on an instant domain registration package (free for a year) which allows a free e:mail as well.

So, then back to Host-it who seemed the best option at only 11.99 per month. They said that their hosting would work and transfer would be quick. Well backwards and forwards, between one and one and host it, we have finally got the website back up and running and receiving orders by 10.00pm. The updates took a while with several refreshes to website saying that the CGI-BIN was not found, but it was just the DNS settings taking their time to transfer. Eventually, after lots of attempts and then tinkering from Gregory until 10pm it finally worked. Two orders have now come through with full payments. The e:mail is also back and working.

Host-it were extremely patient and stayed on a live chat for over 3hours to get this back up and running. I would thoroughly recommend their service and fingers crossed it will all be OK, I still have to make my decision on whether I upgrade or move away from Sellerdeck. Not an easy one to make!

Thanks as well to Mike and Martin on the forum for helping with the suggestions and links. I had not heard of Host-it before today and they have made the website work again.

I hope this helps some others if the same situation arises.

Joanna.
Reply With Quote
  #35  
Old 01-Jul-2016, 07:30 AM
fleetwood's Avatar
fleetwood fleetwood is offline
Registered User
Join Date: Aug 2003
Full Name: Martin
Posts: 1,013
Thanks: 17
Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts
Well done Joanna. Good to hear that you are back up and running.

Sounds like you managed the changeover in record time
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to fleetwood For This Useful Post:
Joanna14 (01-Jul-2016)
  #36  
Old 01-Jul-2016, 11:32 AM
malbro's Avatar
malbro malbro is offline
Registered User
Join Date: May 2007
Full Name: Malcolm Brook
Posts: 1,068
Thanks: 38
Thanked 129 Times in 113 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by fleetwood View Post

Mike Hughes who is also on 1&1 but hasn't had the server upgrade notice yet (as far as I know) still finds his site working. Time will tell if the server upgrade affects Mike too, when his server gets upgraded.

The proof is in the pudding in that the OP Michael, had the same issues with 1&1 after the server upgrade, and has resolved by changing to Seller deck hosting.

I am in the process of doing the same, although I also intend to test out hosting on another server (123Reg) too.
Hi

I also have a site on 1and1 and have no problems at the moment but I am lucky in that I do have other servers I can use it if becomes a problem.

As for the email problem mentioned in other posts there is a program Aid4Mail that is very useful in transferring all emails from one server to another server or copied to your PC for safeguarding.

Before you close your account with 1and1 download the emails to a local PC using Aid4Mail, then when you have a working system on the new host use Aid4Mail to copy the files off your local PC to the new server.

Aid4Mail just needs the logon credentials to access the account which by default requires a working domain on the same server as the email so it cannot be done retrospectively. I have doe this a few times when moving domains and have always had 100% success.
Reply With Quote
The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to malbro For This Useful Post:
fleetwood (04-Jul-2016), guccij (01-Jul-2016), Joanna14 (01-Jul-2016), Mike Hughes (01-Jul-2016)
  #37  
Old 04-Oct-2016, 08:58 AM
Mike Hughes Mike Hughes is offline
Registered User
Join Date: Jan 2003
Full Name: Mike Hughes
Posts: 7,963
Thanks: 258
Thanked 442 Times in 390 Posts
So,

My shared server on 1and1 has now been updated and fingers crossed, everything seems to be fine with it.

I've placed a couple of test orders and everything seems to work fine. Payments come through (both paypal and secpay/paypoint), the return to website works after payment, emails get sent and orders download onto sellerdeck without any problems.

I'm still looking for any problems as it's odd that I appear to have escaped unscathed but so far it's looking like a good upgrade for me.

PS. Perl on the server is now 5.20.2 and that seems to be working fine with sellerdeck.

Mike
__________________
-----------------------------------------

First Tackle - Fly Fishing and Game Angling

-----------------------------------------
Reply With Quote
  #38  
Old 04-Oct-2016, 10:34 AM
malbro's Avatar
malbro malbro is offline
Registered User
Join Date: May 2007
Full Name: Malcolm Brook
Posts: 1,068
Thanks: 38
Thanked 129 Times in 113 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike Hughes View Post
So,

My shared server on 1and1 has now been updated and fingers crossed, everything seems to be fine with it.

PS. Perl on the server is now 5.20.2 and that seems to be working fine with sellerdeck.

Mike
I had three sites running on my shared server at 1&1, two version 10 and one version 9 after upgrade to perl 5.20.2 they all stopped working with PayPal throwing a server 500 error when the software tried to hand over to PayPal.

Moved all three to a managed server at UKFast and they all work fine with Perl 5.10 I have given up on 1&1 and will be closing the account once I get all the emails sorted out.
Reply With Quote
  #39  
Old 04-Oct-2016, 11:28 AM
Mike Hughes Mike Hughes is offline
Registered User
Join Date: Jan 2003
Full Name: Mike Hughes
Posts: 7,963
Thanks: 258
Thanked 442 Times in 390 Posts
I do find it strange that my sites are OK on 1and1 after the upgrade. I was fully expecting them to stop working and have to move them somewhere else.

I have two live V11 sites and a V14 test site running (but with ordering suspended on the V14 site).

I'm still waiting for a 'gotcha' to appear. If it does I'll post another update.
__________________
-----------------------------------------

First Tackle - Fly Fishing and Game Angling

-----------------------------------------
Reply With Quote
  #40  
Old 04-Oct-2016, 06:19 PM
fleetwood's Avatar
fleetwood fleetwood is offline
Registered User
Join Date: Aug 2003
Full Name: Martin
Posts: 1,013
Thanks: 17
Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts
Fingers crossed for you Mike!

Malcolm, can I ask what made you choose UKFast.

For rescue from 1and1 failure I moved to temporary hosting at Sellerdeck, but can't afford to keep this going long term (its 3 times the price I was paying previously)

I was looking at 4sure, as they claim to be 1and1 specialists

Interested in all and any view before I make the final move

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #41  
Old 05-Oct-2016, 08:04 AM
malbro's Avatar
malbro malbro is offline
Registered User
Join Date: May 2007
Full Name: Malcolm Brook
Posts: 1,068
Thanks: 38
Thanked 129 Times in 113 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by fleetwood View Post
Fingers crossed for you Mike!

Malcolm, can I ask what made you choose UKFast.

For rescue from 1and1 failure I moved to temporary hosting at Sellerdeck, but can't afford to keep this going long term (its 3 times the price I was paying previously)

I was looking at 4sure, as they claim to be 1and1 specialists

Interested in all and any view before I make the final move

Thanks
I run a dedicated server on UKFast for a Smart Metering Network collecting data from Smart Meters by GPRS modems, so I had the server available and support service has been EXCELLENT, generally I get problems resolved within an hour or two at most, but like all things you get what you pay for.

Given your low throughput of orders I doubt the cost of a UKFast server would be suitable for yourselves as it is way above the cost of even a dedicated server at 1and1. I did have one of those as well but shut it down last year due to the poor support from 1and1.
Reply With Quote
  #42  
Old 05-Oct-2016, 08:51 AM
fleetwood's Avatar
fleetwood fleetwood is offline
Registered User
Join Date: Aug 2003
Full Name: Martin
Posts: 1,013
Thanks: 17
Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts
Thanks for the info Malcolm. NO, we don't turnover enough online to justify a dedicated server.
Do you have any view or experience on 4sure?
I know they have been around a long time, and the start up company is now owned by a bigger concern, and that they call themselves "sellerdeck specialists". Just curious as to any personal experience with them
Reply With Quote
  #43  
Old 05-Oct-2016, 06:05 PM
malbro's Avatar
malbro malbro is offline
Registered User
Join Date: May 2007
Full Name: Malcolm Brook
Posts: 1,068
Thanks: 38
Thanked 129 Times in 113 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by fleetwood View Post
Thanks for the info Malcolm. NO, we don't turnover enough online to justify a dedicated server.
Do you have any view or experience on 4sure?
I know they have been around a long time, and the start up company is now owned by a bigger concern, and that they call themselves "sellerdeck specialists". Just curious as to any personal experience with them
No the only hosts I have used are 1and1, WebFusion and UKFast and only one of those gave good customer service.
Reply With Quote
  #44  
Old 06-Oct-2016, 07:26 AM
Mike Hughes Mike Hughes is offline
Registered User
Join Date: Jan 2003
Full Name: Mike Hughes
Posts: 7,963
Thanks: 258
Thanked 442 Times in 390 Posts
Quote:
Do you have any view or experience on 4sure?
Aren't 4sure now part of host-it? IIRC Host-it are getting good reviews from other people here on the forum.
__________________
-----------------------------------------

First Tackle - Fly Fishing and Game Angling

-----------------------------------------
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT. The time now is 07:15 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.