My SellerDeck Account | Newsletter | Free Trial

Community and Knowledge Base

  #1  
Old 13-Jun-2009, 11:11 AM
feeky1973 feeky1973 is offline
Registered User
Join Date: Mar 2006
Full Name: rafiq turnbull
Posts: 38
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
web server unknown response

after upgrading to 9.0.4 everything was fine, a couple of times i have got this message when uploading or receiving orders.
nothing can be ordered from my website, tried calling actinic but they were less than helpful..

any ideas?
anyone else had the same problem?


'The web server returned an unknown response.

Possible Cause:
You are attempting to download orders
before uploading to the web site
Incorrect CGI-BIN URL in the web site details
Incorrect permissions on the CGI script on
the server (UNIX servers only)
Script corruption - Could be caused by:
Binary ftp transfer during manual installation
Incomplete transfer
Garbled transfer
etc.
Old or bad version of Perl running on server
Http server error
Wrong Path to Perl specified in the
web site details
Unknown
Recommendation:
Abort
Resolution:
Check cgi-bin script permissions
Compare cgi-bin script against local script to
check for corruption
Upgrade Perl on server (needs at least 5.002)
Run the Web | Configure Web Site Details command to verify your setup
Re-install the web site
Review server response for hints

The response was:
'C:\Inetpub\wwwroot\mainsource\cgi-bin\nq000001.pl' script produced no output



Command: extract Filename: upload.zip'
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 13-Jun-2009, 11:13 AM
Rich Brady's Avatar
Rich Brady Rich Brady is offline
Moderator
Join Date: Sep 2007
Full Name: Rich Brady
Posts: 1,831
Thanks: 4
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Double check your network settings, folder permissions then try a site refresh

Help | Troubleshooting
__________________

Army Gore-tex
Winter Climbing Mitts
webD's Blog: Website design, SEO and other ramblings…
Twitter LinkedIN

If you think a post is good, rate it!

Find the answers in the Knowledge Base | Have you read the User Guides

Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 13-Jun-2009, 11:26 AM
feeky1973 feeky1973 is offline
Registered User
Join Date: Mar 2006
Full Name: rafiq turnbull
Posts: 38
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
i tried going into web_network setup_test
actinic crashed
tried several times each time it crashed.

then the test worked fine and the error message has gone

this is the 2nd time this has happened though

is this a problem on my servers end?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 13-Jun-2009, 11:36 AM
Rich Brady's Avatar
Rich Brady Rich Brady is offline
Moderator
Join Date: Sep 2007
Full Name: Rich Brady
Posts: 1,831
Thanks: 4
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Possibly, who are your hosts and have you contacted them? Can you ftp and check permissions?
__________________

Army Gore-tex
Winter Climbing Mitts
webD's Blog: Website design, SEO and other ramblings…
Twitter LinkedIN

If you think a post is good, rate it!

Find the answers in the Knowledge Base | Have you read the User Guides

Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 13-Jun-2009, 11:37 AM
Rich Brady's Avatar
Rich Brady Rich Brady is offline
Moderator
Join Date: Sep 2007
Full Name: Rich Brady
Posts: 1,831
Thanks: 4
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Did you do a site refresh as I suggested? Sorry, purge and delete is perhaps a better decsription.
__________________

Army Gore-tex
Winter Climbing Mitts
webD's Blog: Website design, SEO and other ramblings…
Twitter LinkedIN

If you think a post is good, rate it!

Find the answers in the Knowledge Base | Have you read the User Guides

Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 13-Jun-2009, 11:48 AM
feeky1973 feeky1973 is offline
Registered User
Join Date: Mar 2006
Full Name: rafiq turnbull
Posts: 38
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
'Did you do a site refresh as I suggested? Sorry, purge and delete is perhaps a better decsription.'

i was with you on site refresh
youve lost me with purge and delete
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 13-Jun-2009, 11:51 AM
Rich Brady's Avatar
Rich Brady Rich Brady is offline
Moderator
Join Date: Sep 2007
Full Name: Rich Brady
Posts: 1,831
Thanks: 4
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Help | Troubleshooting

at the bottom of the window theres an option to purge and refresh you site.
__________________

Army Gore-tex
Winter Climbing Mitts
webD's Blog: Website design, SEO and other ramblings…
Twitter LinkedIN

If you think a post is good, rate it!

Find the answers in the Knowledge Base | Have you read the User Guides

Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 13-Jun-2009, 03:06 PM
Darren B's Avatar
Darren B Darren B is offline
Developers
Join Date: Dec 2002
Full Name: Sir Breakalot
Posts: 6,690
Thanks: 81
Thanked 69 Times in 44 Posts
This will undo any script changes you may have made. Also are you hosting on a windows server?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 17-Jun-2011, 08:43 AM
mikejdavies mikejdavies is offline
Registered User
Join Date: Oct 2008
Full Name: Michael Davies
Posts: 29
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Did this ever get resolved? I am having similar problems.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03-Jul-2017, 12:18 PM
mash mash is offline
Registered User
Join Date: Jan 2003
Full Name: Mash Derrick
Posts: 523
Thanks: 10
Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
I have just suffered this on SD13, any solutions, thanks Mash
__________________
Mash
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT. The time now is 03:27 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.