My SellerDeck Account | Newsletter | Free Trial

Community and Knowledge Base

  #1  
Old 15-Jun-2016, 05:30 PM
Michael@PT Michael@PT is offline
Registered User
Join Date: Sep 2005
Full Name: Michael Houlden
Posts: 59
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
A couple of issues - v9

Hi there,

i've got actinic v9 and everythings been working great up until the end of may when its all gone wrong. All of a sudden the website can no longer receive orders and when you go through the check out process there's an internal server error once you've selected your payment method.

i've looked through countless post on here about server errors and have incremented the cgi script by 1, refreshed the site but with no luck.

Also, just today when checking the network configuration its nows saying "You do not have write permissions to the cgi-bin directory "cgi-bin/" or it does not exist." after the test. It passes all other checks.

Does anyone have any idea what might be causing this?

I've got a 1and1 business package, running windows 7 and have the ssl switched off. Im beginning to wonder whether the recent changes to paypal, and a recent update to the 1and1 server has rendered my site now inoperable permanently??

My domain is www.purethoughts.co.uk - any help/insight would be so very much appreciated.

Michael
__________________
Michael Houlden

Pure Thoughts Soap Company

Luxury Handmade Soap, Bath Treats, Skincare and Gifts.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 16-Jun-2016, 07:15 AM
Duncan Rounding's Avatar
Duncan Rounding Duncan Rounding is offline
Administrator
Join Date: Sep 2005
Full Name: Duncan Rounding
Posts: 10,283
Thanks: 123
Thanked 465 Times in 422 Posts
Have you tried connecting manually to the server with an FTP client and checking the folder permissions?
__________________
SellerDeck/Actinic Report Modifications - Add your logo to your invoice - email for information
Integrated e-Commerce Web Design
SellerDeck/Actinic Upgrades, Custom Designs, Layout Modifications and General SellerDeck/Actinic Help
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 16-Jun-2016, 07:46 AM
Michael@PT Michael@PT is offline
Registered User
Join Date: Sep 2005
Full Name: Michael Houlden
Posts: 59
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Hi Duncan.

Thanks for the response, Yes, check using Filezilla permissions on the cgi bin are 755.
__________________
Michael Houlden

Pure Thoughts Soap Company

Luxury Handmade Soap, Bath Treats, Skincare and Gifts.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 16-Jun-2016, 09:06 AM
Mike Hughes Mike Hughes is offline
Registered User
Join Date: Jan 2003
Full Name: Mike Hughes
Posts: 7,961
Thanks: 257
Thanked 440 Times in 389 Posts
It all seems to be working this morning? I placed a test order and got as far as the paypal login screen so there's nothing wrong that I could see.

Is it all Ok at your end?

Mike
__________________
-----------------------------------------

First Tackle - Fly Fishing and Game Angling

-----------------------------------------
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 16-Jun-2016, 10:00 AM
Michael@PT Michael@PT is offline
Registered User
Join Date: Sep 2005
Full Name: Michael Houlden
Posts: 59
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike Hughes View Post
It all seems to be working this morning? I placed a test order and got as far as the paypal login screen so there's nothing wrong that I could see.

Is it all Ok at your end?

Mike
HI Mike

Thanks so much for trying - unfortunatly nothing working at my end on two differnent pcs with different browsers.

I've attached the error file from the server. Im totally confused by whats occurring as ive had 0 orders in a week which is most unusual.

All i get when i place an order is an internal server error after 10 seconds, on both worldpay and paypal.
Attached Files
File Type: txt error.txt (6.0 KB, 124 views)
__________________
Michael Houlden

Pure Thoughts Soap Company

Luxury Handmade Soap, Bath Treats, Skincare and Gifts.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 16-Jun-2016, 11:37 AM
Mike Hughes Mike Hughes is offline
Registered User
Join Date: Jan 2003
Full Name: Mike Hughes
Posts: 7,961
Thanks: 257
Thanked 440 Times in 389 Posts
Strange, now I'm seeing the same thing on your site, but it definitely worked earlier this morning.

I'm also with 1and1 on a business package but orders are still coming in so unless they're doing a staged server upgrade then that doesn't sound like the problem.

Also the paypal updates have been put off until next year so that shouldn't be the problem either.

The cgi-bin and stale lock error messages does sound like a server issue. The first things I'd try is opening permissions right up on the cgi-bin and acatalog folders and doing another refresh.

Do you get the test email when you test the network settings? Email problems are another thing that can freeze the checkout on earlier sellerdeck versions.

Mike
__________________
-----------------------------------------

First Tackle - Fly Fishing and Game Angling

-----------------------------------------
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 16-Jun-2016, 12:03 PM
Michael@PT Michael@PT is offline
Registered User
Join Date: Sep 2005
Full Name: Michael Houlden
Posts: 59
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike Hughes View Post
Strange, now I'm seeing the same thing on your site, but it definitely worked earlier this morning.

I'm also with 1and1 on a business package but orders are still coming in so unless they're doing a staged server upgrade then that doesn't sound like the problem.

Also the paypal updates have been put off until next year so that shouldn't be the problem either.

The cgi-bin and stale lock error messages does sound like a server issue. The first things I'd try is opening permissions right up on the cgi-bin and acatalog folders and doing another refresh.

Do you get the test email when you test the network settings? Email problems are another thing that can freeze the checkout on earlier sellerdeck versions.

Mike
HI Mike

Thanks so much for taking the time to reply. I've opened the acatalog/cgi files to 777 but that doesnt seem to help. When i do a network test(setting attached) it sporadically gives me a cant connect to via ftp or sporadically says i dont have permission to access cgi bin/ it does exist - however i ve just tested them again, received the actinic email no problem but when it goes to testing write permission tells me

"Failed to transfer a test file to the online store folder. (null)" - not sure what that even means.

Thought, damn now what going on - retried it and everything goes through fine , received actinic email and then received the network settings succesful message.

This is proving to be quite testing!! Website still inoperable.
Attached Files
File Type: txt network settings.txt (966 Bytes, 96 views)
__________________
Michael Houlden

Pure Thoughts Soap Company

Luxury Handmade Soap, Bath Treats, Skincare and Gifts.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 16-Jun-2016, 12:31 PM
Michael@PT Michael@PT is offline
Registered User
Join Date: Sep 2005
Full Name: Michael Houlden
Posts: 59
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I dont really get this as i've just refreshed the website and it still doesnt work on two different pcs. Flicked on my tablet and it worked straight away - how is that even possible?

Still not working for everyone though....
__________________
Michael Houlden

Pure Thoughts Soap Company

Luxury Handmade Soap, Bath Treats, Skincare and Gifts.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 18-Jun-2016, 08:55 PM
Michael@PT Michael@PT is offline
Registered User
Join Date: Sep 2005
Full Name: Michael Houlden
Posts: 59
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Hi guys, thought I might try lowering php on server as per some advice on another thread, still no luck. It randomly work for a customer yesterday but no further sucess really.

Does anyone have any further advice?
__________________
Michael Houlden

Pure Thoughts Soap Company

Luxury Handmade Soap, Bath Treats, Skincare and Gifts.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 19-Jun-2016, 10:26 AM
chris ashdown's Avatar
chris ashdown chris ashdown is offline
Registered User
Join Date: Dec 2002
Full Name: Chris Ashdown
Posts: 2,739
Thanks: 86
Thanked 91 Times in 74 Posts
No at work computer as at home so cannot look up on mine but there is a facility to delete and re publish sellerdeck on one of the menu's on the right hand side of the main menu so making a clean install on the server

Otherwise snapshot and open a new site and import snapshot and re publish to server which means you would have checked sellerdeck files are ok
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 19-Jun-2016, 06:13 PM
Michael@PT Michael@PT is offline
Registered User
Join Date: Sep 2005
Full Name: Michael Houlden
Posts: 59
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Hi chris, thanks so much for the advice, ive tried a few diferrent purge and refreshes but will follow your advice and try your approach.

It sure is a frustrating problem as it does work sporadically.

Does anyone think that 1and 1 might have changed some server setting that would make my site permanently unusable?

Does any else still use v9 on 1 and 1?

For some reason on the sucessful orders actinic doesnt register the payment in , its all v e ry strange.

Cheers,
__________________
Michael Houlden

Pure Thoughts Soap Company

Luxury Handmade Soap, Bath Treats, Skincare and Gifts.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 21-Jun-2016, 02:39 PM
Atomic Atomic is offline
Registered User
Join Date: Oct 2006
Full Name: Stephen Paul Webster
Posts: 48
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Similar Problem on V8

I'm having a similar problem with v8 and 1 & 1.

There was a problem Aug/Sept last year where 1 & 1 had changed the PHP settings without telling anyone. After a lot of running in to brick walls it was eventually solved by manually changing the PHP setting on 1 & 1 server back to 5.4 as detailed here: http://community.sellerdeck.com/show...485#post349485

It's all been working as normal until yesterday. I've had a go at ordering and a 500 error occurs after clicking "next" on the payment details page (I'm old school and don't use a provider).

I've checked the PHP setting on the1 & 1 server and it's still on 5.4.

Odd thing is, I received an email from 1 & 1 in May saying they were updating their server and that I should ensure my scripts are compatible with Perl 5.2. I then received an email yesterday pm saying that the upgrade was complete and Perl 5.2 was now available.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 21-Jun-2016, 02:57 PM
Michael@PT Michael@PT is offline
Registered User
Join Date: Sep 2005
Full Name: Michael Houlden
Posts: 59
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Atomic View Post
I'm having a similar problem with v8 and 1 & 1.

There was a problem Aug/Sept last year where 1 & 1 had changed the PHP settings without telling anyone. After a lot of running in to brick walls it was eventually solved by manually changing the PHP setting on 1 & 1 server back to 5.4 as detailed here: http://community.sellerdeck.com/show...485#post349485

It's all been working as normal until yesterday. I've had a go at ordering and a 500 error occurs after clicking "next" on the payment details page (I'm old school and don't use a provider).

I've checked the PHP setting on the1 & 1 server and it's still on 5.4.

Odd thing is, I received an email from 1 & 1 in May saying they were updating their server and that I should ensure my scripts are compatible with Perl 5.2. I then received an email yesterday pm saying that the upgrade was complete and Perl 5.2 was now available.
Im so glad that your've posted - i found your post when this whole thing started for me 3 weeks ago!! I've not had an order since then. I even nearly rang your phone listed on the site as i had got so desperate.

I've tried EVERYTHING - purges, refreshes, i even paid extra to drop back to 5.2 on php - nothing seems to work - ive ranted and ranted and ranted some more at 1and1 they insist nothings changed and i keep getting this blanket response from them

"This is an update with your escalated case. Our administrators confirmed, It is a scripting configuration error or limits being exceeded, that is the reason why you are experiencing Internal Server Error. Please check your script since we do not support scripting issues. We apologize for the inconvenience caused.

If you wish to speak to a representative about your concern, please reply to this email and indicate the phone number, the time and date you would prefer for us to contact you, and the name of the person we need to look for if you would prefer to have us speak to one of your representatives instead. You can also give us a call anytime at 0333 336 5691.
"


There used to be loads of people on here to talk things over with but its pretty quiet now so i just dont know what im to do..... i only need to keep v9 operational until january as our new site will be operable then. Do you know if you can get temporary hosting somewhere so that i can keep going until Jan???
__________________
Michael Houlden

Pure Thoughts Soap Company

Luxury Handmade Soap, Bath Treats, Skincare and Gifts.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 24-Jun-2016, 10:41 PM
fleetwood's Avatar
fleetwood fleetwood is offline
Registered User
Join Date: Aug 2003
Full Name: Martin
Posts: 1,013
Thanks: 17
Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts
Michael - which version of Sellerdeck are you using?

Same thing has just happened to our site this evening (24th June from 5pm) (on shared server with1&1 Business Pro).
We are running Sellerdeck version 10.0.2 and had the server upgrade email from 1&1 today.
Now everything results in an Internal server error once you try to complete an order
As already stated by another, the same thing happened back in November, then righted itself
1&1 do seem to have a habit of tampering/server changes, without keeping the helpdesk briefed
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 27-Jun-2016, 07:54 AM
Michael@PT Michael@PT is offline
Registered User
Join Date: Sep 2005
Full Name: Michael Houlden
Posts: 59
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by fleetwood View Post
Michael - which version of Sellerdeck are you using?

Same thing has just happened to our site this evening (24th June from 5pm) (on shared server with1&1 Business Pro).
We are running Sellerdeck version 10.0.2 and had the server upgrade email from 1&1 today.
Now everything results in an Internal server error once you try to complete an order
As already stated by another, the same thing happened back in November, then righted itself
1&1 do seem to have a habit of tampering/server changes, without keeping the helpdesk briefed
Hi Im using version 9.05 - its been down for like a month now - trying to move to actinic hosting just to get the site back up - its proving more challenging than i though changing servers -

did you get your site back up?
__________________
Michael Houlden

Pure Thoughts Soap Company

Luxury Handmade Soap, Bath Treats, Skincare and Gifts.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT. The time now is 12:29 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.