My SellerDeck Account | Newsletter | Free Trial

Community and Knowledge Base

  #1  
Old 27-Oct-2017, 08:59 AM
MDN's Avatar
MDN MDN is offline
Registered User
Join Date: Jun 2010
Full Name: Lee Phillips
Posts: 115
Thanks: 26
Thanked 20 Times in 14 Posts
Any Way to Lower 'case page-name.html'

Anyone know if there's a way to make SD lower case the html page name created from the product name?
__________________
Many Thanks
Lee
www.mdnsupplies.co.uk
www.hookandloopfasteners.co.uk
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 27-Oct-2017, 10:05 AM
NormanRouxel's Avatar
NormanRouxel NormanRouxel is offline
Registered User
Join Date: Dec 2002
Full Name: Norman Rouxel
Posts: 10,752
Thanks: 9
Thanked 734 Times in 617 Posts
Not within SD I think.

However you could use Access to change ActinicCatalog.mdb, table Product , field sSingleProductPageName. This is for the Product Pages. Sections are done via table CatalogSection, field sPageName.

I tried that here manually on a single product page (with SD closed down and a backup made just in case) and it worked fine.
__________________
Norman - www.drillpine.biz
Edinburgh, U K / Bitez, Turkey
Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to NormanRouxel For This Useful Post:
guccij (27-Oct-2017), MDN (27-Oct-2017)
  #3  
Old 27-Oct-2017, 10:07 AM
guccij's Avatar
guccij guccij is offline
Registered User
Join Date: Feb 2008
Full Name: Jules
Posts: 1,950
Thanks: 175
Thanked 157 Times in 143 Posts
Is there any advantage to doing this? Aesthetically lower case urls are much better I feel and I really don't like Sellerdeck's insistence on capitals. However unless there's an obvious ranking advantage I'm not sure why it should be done?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 27-Oct-2017, 10:15 AM
MDN's Avatar
MDN MDN is offline
Registered User
Join Date: Jun 2010
Full Name: Lee Phillips
Posts: 115
Thanks: 26
Thanked 20 Times in 14 Posts
Thanks Norman, I'll give it a go.

Quote:
Is there any advantage to doing this? Aesthetically lower case urls are much better I feel and I really don't like Sellerdeck's insistence on capitals. However unless there's an obvious ranking advantage I'm not sure why it should be done?
No, just me being too fussy I think, I manually go in and set it to lower case but don't always remember, it's purely down to aesthetics and just wondered if there were an easy way to achieve it by default.
__________________
Many Thanks
Lee
www.mdnsupplies.co.uk
www.hookandloopfasteners.co.uk
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 27-Oct-2017, 02:06 PM
MattSMR MattSMR is offline
Registered User
Join Date: Dec 2016
Full Name: Matt McCullough
Posts: 39
Thanks: 5
Thanked 8 Times in 5 Posts
Stick with all lower case.

Dependant on whether you have a Windows or Linux host, file names can load differently.

Windows servers are case insensitive.

If you have www.site.com/Link & www.site.com/link - Windows server will treat them as the same.

A Linux server will correctly treat them as seperate files.

Read more here: https://wiredimpact.com/blog/never-u...-letters-urls/

EDIT: To the OP,

As indicated by Norman, you can do this inside of the ActinicCatalog.mdb if you're running access version of the site.

Brucey bonus - here's the code to do this in an Access query:

Code:
UPDATE [Catalog Section]
SET [Catalog Section].sPageName = StrConv([sPageName],2);
The "2" at the end can be replaced with the following syntax

1 - uppercase
2 - lowercase
3 - camel case


Hope this helps!
__________________
Matt. M - SMR Enterprises Ltd.

Last edited by MattSMR; 27-Oct-2017 at 02:08 PM.. Reason: Actually answered OP's question!
Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to MattSMR For This Useful Post:
Goz (08-Nov-2017), MDN (28-Oct-2017)
  #6  
Old 08-Nov-2017, 05:11 PM
brucet brucet is offline
Administrator
Join Date: Apr 2003
Full Name: Bruce Townsend
Posts: 947
Thanks: 55
Thanked 225 Times in 135 Posts
You can change the page name manually. It's the 'Page Name' field in the 'Product Page' tab of the Product Details.

If your website is on a Windows server, you don't want to change the case after Google has indexed the page. Unless you provide a 301 redirect from the old URL to the new one, the page will lose all rankings. If you're on a Linux server, I think it should be OK, because they are not case sensitive. But I'm not an expert on that side of things.
__________________
Bruce Townsend
Ecommerce Product Manager
SellerDeck Ecommerce Solutions
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT. The time now is 05:45 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.