My SellerDeck Account | Newsletter | Free Trial

Community and Knowledge Base

  #1  
Old 26-Mar-2017, 03:54 PM
guccij's Avatar
guccij guccij is offline
Registered User
Join Date: Feb 2008
Full Name: Jules
Posts: 1,926
Thanks: 161
Thanked 149 Times in 136 Posts
BST Song and Dance

Twice a year we have this stupid nonsense where we manually have to update the perl scripts for them to show the correct time. It's always a huge faff.

Today, on 16.03, I simply cannot get the AUG instructions to work AT ALL.

Bear in mind I've been doing this since 2008, I can't begin to see what's gone wrong.
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to guccij For This Useful Post:
Jan (22-Jun-2017)
  #2  
Old 26-Mar-2017, 04:02 PM
guccij's Avatar
guccij guccij is offline
Registered User
Join Date: Feb 2008
Full Name: Jules
Posts: 1,926
Thanks: 161
Thanked 149 Times in 136 Posts
Finally, finally. The AUG is woefully inadequate. You have to change EVERY mention of
Code:
gmtime(time);
to
Code:
gmtime(time + 1 * 60 * 60);
There are two in ACTINIC.pm and three in OrderScript.pl

Please could the AUG be changed to reflect this.
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to guccij For This Useful Post:
zgap111 (21-Jun-2017)
  #3  
Old 21-Jun-2017, 08:33 PM
zgap111 zgap111 is offline
Registered User
Join Date: Oct 2006
Full Name: Tak Chiu
Posts: 308
Thanks: 21
Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
We switched to Sellerdeck hosting, and their server is set to GMT...

We will have to do this fix also - I was going to query the second instance of gmt(time) in the OrderScript.pl

- but you have answered my question.

I'm going to have to do another bat file to run for this BST / GMT

- I wish Sellerdeck will implement AUG stuff into Sellerdeck itself...
- having to spend extra time to edit the scripts/reports (for x amount of sites) after a Sellerdeck update is getting very annoying

Thank you.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 21-Jun-2017, 08:55 PM
NormanRouxel's Avatar
NormanRouxel NormanRouxel is offline
Registered User
Join Date: Dec 2002
Full Name: Norman Rouxel
Posts: 10,727
Thanks: 9
Thanked 719 Times in 605 Posts
SellerDeck site level variables work in scripts like ACTINIC.pm.

So you could create a Variable "TimeAdjustSeconds" maybe set as a list of Choices (0, 3600).
And use:
Code:
gmtime(time + <actinic:variable name="TimeAdjustSeconds" />);
__________________
Norman - www.drillpine.biz
Edinburgh, U K / Bitez, Turkey
Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to NormanRouxel For This Useful Post:
guccij (22-Jun-2017), zgap111 (26-Jun-2017)
  #5  
Old 26-Jun-2017, 08:47 AM
zgap111 zgap111 is offline
Registered User
Join Date: Oct 2006
Full Name: Tak Chiu
Posts: 308
Thanks: 21
Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
I see what you've done, it's great.

There is another edit associated with this:

editing:
GMT : sprintf(" %2.2d:%2.2d GMT", $nHour, $nMin);
BST : sprintf(" %2.2d:%2.2d BST", $nHour, $nMin);

I guess the same change also, something like?

Code:
sprintf(" %2.2d:%2.2d "<actinic:variable name="TimeZoneAbbreviation" />, $nHour, $nMin);
with choices : GMT and BST

What would be better to link the two... is it possible?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-Sep-2017, 11:55 AM
zgap111 zgap111 is offline
Registered User
Join Date: Oct 2006
Full Name: Tak Chiu
Posts: 308
Thanks: 21
Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
I've noticed a problem...

So changes in the code = Confirmation email sent from the server = correct = good.

But, default emails sent from Sellerdeck Program shows the time in BST but has "GMT" described.

The default emails are using the Actinic Variable : OrderData

I believe the OrderData variable is a system variable and cannot be modified.
see : http://community.sellerdeck.com/showthread.php?t=25785

The default variable shows:

Order status
Shipping method
Payment Status
Date & time received
Payment method

Is it possible to create a new variable and do it ourselves?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-Sep-2017, 04:31 PM
guccij's Avatar
guccij guccij is offline
Registered User
Join Date: Feb 2008
Full Name: Jules
Posts: 1,926
Thanks: 161
Thanked 149 Times in 136 Posts
You're correct - you can't change GMT in that situation. It's very annoying. I would like to be able to eliminate it completely.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 13-Sep-2017, 01:15 PM
zgap111 zgap111 is offline
Registered User
Join Date: Oct 2006
Full Name: Tak Chiu
Posts: 308
Thanks: 21
Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
I asked if the individual variables can be made available so I can format the email without using that variable (like the online email solutions for "Adding Extra Fields in the Customer Email" in the Advanced Guide)

My support ticket on this was closed today without an answer on the above

- not a bug, so no bug number...

Probably will never be fixed

For us it is correct 50% of the year... GMT (correct) > BST (wrong) > GMT (correct)
but won't be suitable for anyone outside of GMT, eg USA's EST / PST will be completely wrong.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 13-Sep-2017, 05:02 PM
guccij's Avatar
guccij guccij is offline
Registered User
Join Date: Feb 2008
Full Name: Jules
Posts: 1,926
Thanks: 161
Thanked 149 Times in 136 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by zgap111 View Post
My support ticket on this was closed today without an answer on the above
This is unacceptable. It must have been done in error, surely.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 14-Sep-2017, 09:18 AM
zgap111 zgap111 is offline
Registered User
Join Date: Oct 2006
Full Name: Tak Chiu
Posts: 308
Thanks: 21
Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
I'm not surprised, as it's not the first time it's happened...

I'm sure there's a solution, surely we should be able to add variables to offline emails

Order status
Shipping method
Payment Status
Date & time received
Payment method

We are stuck in using <actinic:variable name="OrderData"/> in the offline email for those data.

<actinic:variable name="DateShipped"/> also does not work

eg. I can add a tracking number to an offline email, but you can't add the shipping date - a quick email confirming tracking and shipping requires you to manually enter the shipping date in.

In this ticket's case, whenever we send an email, we need to manually correct the "GMT" to whatever it should be. It's another annoying "extra thing to do" - which is slowly building up (eg.a recent one : SQL version : comment field is greyed for cheque/cash sent/received and void - if you receive a BACS receipt and want to add a comment, you can't - you need to change to another payment method, then add the comment, then change it back to the correct.. an old one - never been fixed : we can't add a handling fee to a specific order, you have to add a value in Business Settings, get back to the order, amend the value so it's different, then go back to Business Settings to revert, then back to the order amend for correct value...)

If tracking number data can be pulled out of an order, why can't the other information?
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT. The time now is 08:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.