My SellerDeck Account | Newsletter | Free Trial

Community and Knowledge Base

Go Back   Sellerdeck Community > Discussion Areas > Bug Reports

Search powered by Google
Register FAQ Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Useful Thread? Display Modes
  #1  
Old 30-Oct-2016, 05:42 PM
NormanRouxel's Avatar
NormanRouxel NormanRouxel is offline
Registered User
Join Date: Dec 2002
Full Name: Norman Rouxel
Posts: 10,745
Thanks: 9
Thanked 730 Times in 615 Posts
Ampersand in Product Reference breaks dynamic pricing.

As above. If you have an ampersand in your product reference then SD will happily let you type it in. Now if this product has dynamic pricing, as soon as you make a selection that affects the price you will get an error message like:
Quote:
The specified product (reference 47) has just been removed from the catalog. Please return to the catalog and continue shopping. If you press the Refresh or Reload button on your browser, the removed products will no longer be visible in the catalog. We apologize for the inconvenience.
Example. SD V16.0.2 demo site. Allow user defined product references. Change the first product on the site (Engagement Ring) from reference 47 to 47& and upload. Kaboom when you try to select a choice.

I note that way back in 2009 (SD V10) there was a KB article saying that such characters would be invalid from 10.0.3 onwards!!!
__________________
Norman - www.drillpine.biz
Edinburgh, U K / Bitez, Turkey
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 30-Oct-2016, 05:56 PM
NormanRouxel's Avatar
NormanRouxel NormanRouxel is offline
Registered User
Join Date: Dec 2002
Full Name: Norman Rouxel
Posts: 10,745
Thanks: 9
Thanked 730 Times in 615 Posts
And a similar problem if there is a backslash in the product reference. Especially if it's the last character where you get a JavaScript error when viewing the product page.

No doubt other characters will break things.

P.S. I always use variable EncodedProductAnchor when needing an unique ID for a product that's going to be used in JavaScript or PHP code. EncodedProductAnchor is always purely alphanumeric plus underscore. And can be converted back to the actual product ID by a little bit of JS, Perl or PHP.
__________________
Norman - www.drillpine.biz
Edinburgh, U K / Bitez, Turkey
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to NormanRouxel For This Useful Post:
Goz (30-Oct-2016)
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT. The time now is 07:33 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.