XML Sitemaps

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

XML Sitemaps

If you have ever wondered why we bother with generating an XML sitemap, then wonder no more!. Have a look at this link for an interesting (well I thought it was interesting - but they all reckon I need to get out more!) anecdote about misusing and then understand XML Sitemaps
    John Sollars
    MD at Stinkyink.Com
    Ph 01746 781020
    Fx 01746 781698
    Em John (at) Stinkyink dot Com

Scary how a small change can provide disastrous results... funny how it is easier to kill your site than it is to improve it

Bikster
    SellerDeck Designs and Responsive Themes

Comment

xml so important

Geez thats scary!

I'm new to all this and working on getting google to pick up the right pages

So after a couple of days of putting together robots.txt and an accurate xml sitemap i'm looking forward to seeing if google will refresh its indexing where i want it.

Cheers for the info

Rob
      http://undermyfloor.co.uk

Comment

We binned the XML sitemap as it's too easy to get wrong, particularly with the frequency thing. We found google indexed new pages but put them straight into supplemental without indexing the content. They would then stay there for months despite all efforts to link to them from the index or from other sites etc.

Letting google find our new pages naturally from a home page link may take a day or so longer but at least it looks at them properly and most times they go straight to the main index.

I saw no increase in total pages indexed with a sitemap. My advice would be to make sure your internal linking is well structured and not bother. It gives google an excuse to not crawl your site, just index the URL and not bother with the rest.
        Blank DVD
        Cloth Nappies

Comment

John,

Which software do you use to generate your feed?

I use Mole End's mash but it doesn't have any priorities to the urls, just urls.

Kind regards

Jason
          Regards

Jason