Getting started

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Getting started

How do you get started do you go about contact wholesalers? do you just call them up and say hey I want to sell your stuff, or do you have to be more tactful than that?

How do you go about arranging discounts with them to then sell on as retail?

Sorry I’m a complete newbie to this, and my partner and I are looking into setting up a ecomerce business.

Can anyone give me some advice or recommend some good books or website to help me get started.

Thanks

depends on products you want to sell
    sometimes it is as easy as buying a products and seeing contact details on the back
    there is a magazine called the trader fortnightly
    there are also websites for dropshippers
    some products have dedicated magazines

computers lingerie just a couple of examples

or you could just pop round the wholesalers
    strangeways/anncoats in manchester area
    birmingham also has a lot

happy hunting
    Remembering the road to Actinic enlightenment is a long and sometimes painful one.
    Current project:
    cheapadulttoys4u.co.uk
    cheaplingerie4u.co.uk
    Something for the Missus,Something for the Weekend

Comment

First must come the selection of what type of thing you want to sell

Second you do your research by doing a full business plan on who what where you will sell and how many people you think will buy from you

This will include where you buy your stock from, Most goods are brought from either wholesellers or distributers and they will have floating prices dependant on how much you spend, but dont expect much if you are just buying a few hundred pounds worth of gear, they are looking for customers who spend thousands per year or month

Another option is in some goods you can get them sent direct from your suppliers called drop shipping your customer deals and pays you, you notify the other company who send out the goods directly to your customer