Another product/shipping feature request

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Another product/shipping feature request

Sorry big first post.... not a moan or a beg for help... but really its a request to make something that is quite complicated and untidy into something simple, streamlined and beautiful.

I have read an earlier post regarding needing special shipping for certain items and I know that Actinic has various ways to tinker with things that can do this or that (Ive been using Actinic since 2001) but I have a business that sends some chilled items... and this presents a problem:

I would like to send chilled items with a different service to the standard parcel service, so the customer cannot choose an inapproriate form of shipping (bless them trying to save a few pennies only to complain later) that requires me to either refund the items we cant send or send but suffer the wrath of said blessed customer when things arrive and aren't as they had hoped and then face demands for a refund for something they shouldn't have ordered anyway. Fictional example of customer behaviour here would be something akin to... Ice Cream via Pony Express to the Western Sahara.

So for example, while most items are ambient, if any chilled item is added the shipping needs to be instantly restricted to options such as next day delivery with UK mainland, or ship Monday to Wednesday only... and a message should explain why the restriction is required. All the options could be set up as normal in shipping zones/classes.

This would then also allow me to send goods to people outside of the UK who want them but who we currently have to refuse in case they ask for impossible items. By ensuring that if a chilled item is added by a non 'UK mainland' customer the checkout presents no available shipping options and a clear message to remove the item to allow the rest of the goods to be posted.