Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

What is the workflow with actinic?

Hi there,

I'm a web designer who is going to use actinic to construct a shop for the client, can someone guide me through the correct (or best) workflow for doing this?

I'm imagining it's something like:

- Buy the designer software
    - Design and create the template
    - Add the products / set prices, shipping etc
    - Get the client to buy the desired version of actinic, hosting, payment processor etc and instal on their machine
    - Put their site details into the designer software
    - Click 'Upload'

What does everyone think? I'd like as much information as possible before I get started, particularly on any potential pitfalls.

Obviously the client will want the site 100% finished before it goes live, so can I do testing without making the site available to the public?
    Can I add products etc on my designer software or will the client have to add them on their software?

Thanks in advance!

if this is a one off and you will hand over to client and walk away then you can use the customer's version of Actinic to design with. If you intend designing other sites for clients than Designer is what you would need.

Your work flow looks fine. there are many variations and of course you can do things in parallel but in principle you covered the important points.

You can upload the site in test mode to the final domain or to your own test domain. You can block access by the robots in the normal ways - if you are using standard templates then in test mode there's a meta to block bots built in. Personally I use my own sub domains for testing.

You can add products in Designer but you are only licensed to download test orders.

Comment

Thanks!
      So just to clarify, I can add products through the designer software I just can't download orders?