Compacting database

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Compacting database

Having a strange problem with database compacting in V10.03 LAFA.
    On running compact database I get the following error message
    ...Driver's ConfigDSN, ConfigDriver, or ConfigTranslator failed.
    Please use Explorer to investigate the problem"
    This is happening on a windows XP SP2 machine.
    I have V9.05 installed as well which compacts perfectly on our original website.
    Strange thing is Actinic 10.03 LAFA is in use on a Vista and a Windows 7 machine as well and compacts without any trouble.
    I have made a snapshot and sucessfully imported and compacted it on the win7 machine, on re-importing it to the original XP machine-no luck.
    I have looked at the ODBC setup (bearing in mind I'm no expert on databases and ODBC), and run the repair option-with no change. The ODBC setup says that it recognises Actinic 10 as a data source.
    Now wondering if I need to delete V10.03 and re-install, but I don't want to unless I'm sure of two things:
    1) I can't fix it any other way.
    2) The re-install will cure the problem.
    Any suggestions apart from compacting the database and repairing via ODBC would be appreciated.
    By the way, as far as I can see the drivers must be installed properly as 9.05 compacts without any errors, and the ODBC setup doesn't seem to be showing any errors......
    Steve Griggs.

"People in business often miss opportunities, mainly because they usually arrive dressed in overalls and looking like work."

www.kitchenwareonline.com
    www.microwave-repair.co.uk

I have this problem on a client site at the moment and will be doing a reinstall soon to hopefully get the OBDC driver installed correctly.

You might want to read this: http://community.actinic.com/showpos...97&postcount=6
    In my case the MS Access driver is not even installed.

Comment