Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

FAO Chris, Bruce, Tracey or Toby

Hi Guys and Gals

I've been emailed 3 times over the past 2 days asking me to confirm and help users on how to upgrade to 8.05. I haven't upgrade any sites as of yet and i intend to start in about half hour, so i have very little experience on it also.

The link in the thread for the patch (i think most people tend to download these) actually recommends downloading the trial version, i think is where people are getting confused.

Is it possible to have an instruction sheet on what they need to do posted or whether you can confirm what i have written below is correct.

1. Take snapshot of current V8 site
    2. Backup any CSS and external designs you are using
    3. Download the trial version off the actinic site

....this is where the confusion seems to be and i must admit i would just try different methods until i achieved what i wanted, however that will scare most people. Is it:

4. Uninstall your current version of V8
    5. Delete the Actinic folder also
    6. Install the trial version
    7. Use your existing license key to turn the trial software into full production as you had
    8. Import V8 snapshot

This is how it seems from what i've read that people are doing. As i have never downloaded the trial version and done it this way (only ever used patches), i'm not quite picturing how the upgrade occurs. I'm presuming that as you import the snapshot, it is upgraded at that stage? is this correct?

I have also seen some posts with regards to the DW module needing to be upgraded also as different versions are released. I can find no module to download any upgrade for this, so i am presuming it is part of the full release?

If you can clarify these points, i and at least 3 others will benefit - cheers.

Not Bruce, Chris, Toby or Tracey

Have you seen this I posted yesterday http://community.actinic.com/showthr...646#post150646

Bikster