Which Version - confused please help

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Which Version - confused please help

I wonder if anyone can give me a bit of advice.

I've been looking at Actinic for some time. I'm a free lance web designer - but I also run my own online business. My original site was hand build with asp - and whilst it does the trick I'm looking for a solution where I can handle back office stuff, database admin and product catalogue all in one application - and Actinic seems to offer this. After loads of reading around the subject I'm completely confused as to which version is for me. I'm planning to design the site in Dreamweaver as I want as much control over the look and feel of the site as possible without it looking like an out the box application - but wanting to use Actinic for the e-commerce. Please can anyone point me in the right direction and help me with the following.

1. Is it pretty straight forward to build the templates from Scratch using dreamweaver and a good knowledge of html – Or is it that you have to fiddle with the included templates can anyone point me towards any good resources or offer any advice on this?

2. Is it the same dreamweaver integration tools in designer as it is in Catalogue and Business or does designer offer more design flexibility?

3. It maybe that I have future clients that I could offer Actinic for e commerce – in which case would I then need to buy developer and also catalogue for my own store ?

To be honest Catalogue looks to offer what I need for this project – but does developer offers more tools to help design individual sites?

If anyone can help – that would be fantastic – thanks - Dayne

Welcome to the forum,

by the sounds of it MultiSite would be the solution .. allowing you to build your own sites and develop for 3rd parties. You could go the Designer / Catalogue route but this would restrict flexibility if you wanted more of your own sites.