Poor Actinic Performance

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Poor Actinic Performance

I have been using Actinic business multi-site for about 8 months now.

It seems that Actinic kind of “semi hangs” (ie. “not responding tag), for the lack of a better term. When I edit products, change content/design/orders tabs, Actinic is unbearably slow…driving me to the point extreme of frustration. I have always expected that as the catalogue grew to get some slowdowns, but it has gotten to the point that I almost cannot work. Even on Actinic start-up it takes too long to get going.

I have tried running on different machines and both Win XP/Vista to no avail…and on a machine so fast that it would make Bill Gates jealous. Yet I am still experiencing exceptionally poor performance.

My catalogue is medium size, I would guess a thousand or so products…maybe less. I am using the latest version of V8.

I would like to know if anyone has any suggestions.

Siegfried.

There have been several threads about Actinic performance - especially in the early stages of v8 release - that are worth searching for.

There have been several suggestions, as well as patches, to help overcome this. Compacting the database on a regular basis, turning off preview when in the content tree plus a few others for quickening the upload times.

You are not alone

Bikster
    SellerDeck Designs and Responsive Themes

Comment

Chris has already said its something that Actinic are working to improve on in the next release. I find the site generation when uploading takes much longer than earlier versions. I shudder to imagine what its like with one page per product sites.
      Football Heaven

For all kinds of football souvenirs and memorabilia.

Comment

Originally posted by george