Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Just what can I do with Brochure Pages?

Hi there,

I'm a bit of a newbie with Actinic, having played with V6 in the past & I am now reeally hoping to apply myself to V9, which I have just purchased.

My main problem is, is that at heart I am a designer, used to creating static HTML pages. I am now finding that more and more I am being asked to develop pages with at least some element of eCommerce in them. I am happy to use Actinic for this, but I just can't find a clear explanation of how I can integrate "normal' pages with an Actinic Catalog.

I gather that Brochure Pages give you the ability to display info not related to purchasing anything, but they seem to be limited to just displaying fragments of either product info or basic tex/image snippets.

I am hoping to develop sites where there will be a lot of these non eCommerce pages, going beyond the basic nature of Brochure Pages & featuring more complex layouts, functions & navigation.

I have done this in the past with V6 by simply just jumping in and out of the Actinic acatalog folder & just displaying static html pages where required. This time, however, I need to be integrating the shopping features of Actinic into every page on the site. For example, even a page where the main content is not shopping related, I would still like to to feature some new products in a side bar. I also need to be displaying the current cart status on every page as well.

So I guess my question is! Am I just missing some of the real functions of Brochure pages, or is there an easy way to feature Actinic content in pages that are not created within Actinic?

Hopefully there is a devastatingly simple answer to this. I have no pride & am happy to look the fool if there is an easy way out of this!

Thanks for all your help, I look forward to contributing more to the forum from now on!

Mat