Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Navigation - Why MainSection::SectionNumber not aloud in BLOCK

Hi everyone.

This is my first ever post on the forum. I've been using Actinic for about 4 months and have found the forum invaluable so far - thanks to everyone involved!

My current issue involves trying to get a static menu to display the child sections of the current section. For example, if I'm in section 2 - the menu will look like this:

Section 1
    Section 2
    Sub-Section 2a
    Sub-Section 2b
    Sub-Section 2c
    Section 3
    Section 4

I've read loads of threads about this but hadn't managed to get anything to work. Anyway, after a long day today I finally came up with a solution. However, It is fairly long winded and as I add more sections it will require further work.

If you look at the working menu here: http://www.the-red-box.co.uk/plumbits

you can see what I'm trying to achieve in the menu. The way I've done it so far is to create a variable 'SectionNumber' (thanks to CDicken for this bit) and then in my main page layout use 4 different list layouts, each with a BLOCK around it, for the 4 different menu states. Then depending on the SectionNumber you are on it will display the appropriate menu. However, if I've got 4 parent sections I need 4 different Layouts. Here's the problem... If I've got 50 parent sections, as I have on another site for which I want to use the menu, I've got a lot of layouts and BLOCKS to do.

I have got a solution in head but I can't make it work. I'm looking for someone to help please. I think if I can put the following variable qualifier into a BLOCK:

<actinic:variable name="MainSection::SectionNumber" />

It will work. However when I try, I get a message saying that this is an 'invalid expression'. Here's my planned code:

Code:
    <actinic:block if="%3cactinic%3avariable%20name%3d%22IsSectionIncludedInSiteMap%22%20%2f%3e" >