Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Newsletter points to perl file

Hi all,

I have a newsletter subscription form courtesy of m2news.com.au which was working fine (in test mode). It showed me a "Thanks for subscribing" page and re-directed me to my site.

In the last week, it has stopped working. On pressing 'submit', I get

"General Script error. Could not locate the product reference. Press the Browser back button and try again or contact the site owner".

I contacted the guys in Oz who said

now, this is an issue with your webhost company, and a setting they have on their server for your account. What we think it is doing is using "mod rewrite" to force any form on your site to only send to another file on your site. Its a bit paranoid, but hopefully your host will turn it off for your account.
    Spoke to Act Support this morning and they said no, they don't do that. However they noticed that on pressing submit, the following path shows in the bottom bar (as near as I could get, as it disappears very fast)
    www.celtic-cross-stitch.com/cgi-bin/ca90001.pl

which apparently means that it is pointing to a pl file.

I've emailed Oz to tell them this but wondered if you guys can shed any light?

I'm wondering why it worked before and now isn't? Any ideas?

Script for newsletter is:

!!<<!--start m2news newsletter subscription form-->
    <script type="text/javascript">
    var id = 946;
    </script>
    <script type="text/javascript" src="http://www.m2news.com.au/subscribe/form.js">
    </script>
    <!--end m2new newsletter subscription form-->
    >!!

My site is up in Test Mode if taking a look will help. URL is
    http://www.celtic-cross-stitch.com/a...ewsletter.html

thanks!

Mary
    Last edited by MaryCollings; 31-Jul-2008, 09:09 AM. Reason: checking site URL - link works but doesn't say 'Newsletter'. No idea why