Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

interactive preview

Hi all,

I've recently started working for a small company who use Actinic to build their ecommerce sites, and I'm a bit of a newbie. My predecessor left the company before I started, so there's not been a handover as such, and now I have to upgrade a number of sites for a large client (v7 to v9).

I've pored over the documentation I can find and done a number of searches on this forum, but I keep hitting stumbling blocks.

I sat the Web Design with Actinic course last week, and found it very helpful, but the sites I'm working on at the moment in no way resemble the example sites in the course.

At the moment, I have an issue with the interactive preview - it isn't interactive. With a bit of trial and error, it appears to work if I strip out the script tags from the outer layout. Having read through the advanced user guide, I found the section on hiding code from the preview, but this doesn't feel like the right way to do things and I'd have to apply the block to every script tag.

Please advise...

The preview isn't interactive, are you getting mixed up with the offline preview you can do using the buttons on the toolbar? In order to change the preview screen, you have to interact with the content tree.

Comment

Sorry, I mean in the design tab.

Comment

start again what you are doing is wrong. Stripping stuff out will break the site.

Look in the v8 threads about upgrading from v7 as v9 is the same as v8 in that respect. You will soon see that upgrading is not the way to do it.

Comment

Sorry, can you please explain what you mean by "upgrading is not the way to do it"? It's precisely what I'm required to do...

I'm thoroughly confused here...

Comment

design view is not interactive either - sounds like you are used to dreamweaver if so then actinic is very different.

Comment