Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

2 Sites out of 1?

Hi,

I am new to Ac, I have a client who wants a retail and wholesale site for the same products - but doesnt want them linked from one site so they would have different URLs.

They was I see it - build one site - then duplicate it changing prices and some content?

kind regards

Steven

Originally posted by kingo View Post
    They was I see it - build one site - then duplicate it changing prices and some content?
    Sounds good to me.

Comment

It would be easier to use Actinic to its full where you have the normal shop open to all at the normal retail price, and then account customers just log in to see both the retail and their own special prices. The retail customers never get to see the account customers special prices

This would mean you only have to update one site for new items and price changes etc

On the other hand the two site also works well but a bit more upkeep
      Chris Ashdown

Comment

Licensing might be an issue - will this be 2 domains or just the 1?
        Elysium:Online - Official Accredited SellerDeck Partner
        SellerDeck Design, Build, Hosting & Promotion
        Based in rural Northants

Comment

2 different URL's then yes make 2 sites, you can use the same products in both.

Remember duplicate sites may get penalised for duplicate content. However you mentioned changing content so go for it.

To do this isn actinic you need multi site (business plus), dont confuse with multi user

Comment

Thanks to all...

What are the 'penalties' for duplicate sites you mention?

Also re: business plus - if the wholesale and retail are being managed by seperate individuals - whats best - Client Catalogue? Would be good to keep client costs down...

Steven

Originally posted by Darren B View Post
            2 different URL's then yes make 2 sites, you can use the same products in both.