Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

VAT Problem on V9 Site

Hi All,

I am experiencing a few issues with VAT exempt products via our site.

Setting the products up to be VAT exempt is not a problem at all. However, when we receive orders for these items the carriage charge is also coming through on the order exempt of VAT.

Does anybody know how to fix this please?

Many Thanks

Matt

On the shipping tab in business settings, what method of charging do you have for the vat (top left). I think ProRata is the one you want.

Comment

Sorted!!

Thanks for the advise Lee. Needed to amend the VAT details in shipping from Pro-Rata to VAT. This way VAT is being applied to all delivery charges regardless of whether the product is VAT exempt.

Matt

Comment

VAT on Shipping

Hello Matt. From my understanding of VAT, which I have been handling for many years, and have checked on their website, if the goods ordered are all exempt of VAT, then the carriage charge can then be exempt too. Likewise, with items zero rated - if all the items are zero rated, then the carriage charge can also be zero rated.

The products that we sell are a mixture of standard rated and zero rated, and some orders are exempt as they are going overseas. We adjust the VAT on the carriage accordingly, but keep the totals the same. For example, if the courier charge is £6.80, we charge everybody £6.80 in total. If the goods are standard rated, it breaks down as £5.91 plus 89p VAT, so we receive less.

Actinic cannot handle this, so we adjust the VAT on the carriage manually when processing the order imported into Sage.

Sarah

Comment

As i understand it the pro-rata tax setting on shipping is supposed to pro-rata the shipping according to the vat applied to each product.