Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Actinic won't load

Hi

I've just taken over from a previous employee at our company and we have a problem with Actinic. I believe it is at least version 9 but I can't open it to find out! I have very little experience of the software, but I do use Access.
    When I try to load the program, I get the login screen along with a couple of splash screens (Initializing site objects) but that's it. I've tried running the program from the catalog.exe file (a suggestion I found on here) but it still won't open. I've also done a compact and repair on the database and cleared any ldb lock files. When I have tried to run the program, there is a process that appears in the Task Manager called ACTSYNCSVR (or similar!) but that's it.
    Help would be most appreciated.
    Thanks!
    Andy.

I don't have an answer for you, but just to say that if you consider removing and reinstalling the software, make sure that you have kept copies of any snapshots (and a backup of the site folder is good too) before you do it. You should see catalog.exe in the processes when it is running correctly.

Is it possible that the previous employee could have sabotaged the installation??

Aquazuro - designer stainless steel accessories

Comment

Have you seen this:

http://community.actinic.com/showthread.php?t=37467

is yours a multiuser system?

Comment

Thanks for the reply. It is a multi-user system - but no-one else is using it currently. I can be fairly sure that the previous employee hasn't sabotaged it as he left on good terms.
        We have three sites that run using Actinic (I think it's Business Plus). Another chap also uses the software so I'll have to check with him that he has up-to-date snapshots. I don't really know what else to try.

Comment

Daft question probably but what happens if you try to login?

Regards,