Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Replace the actinic generated text with Flash and Image.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Replace the actinic generated text with Flash and Image.

Hi,
    What I want to do is replace the text generated by actinic with a flash file or an image. Is it possible?
    Now, for example you can see on following link:
    http://www.getthroughguides.co.uk/acatalog/
    the text on the left side in a container "store sections" should be replaced with a flash file, and on the right side you can see a dull texty "cart details" box, the text in this should be replace with a good looking image.
    And in the attached image you can see some icons "ST / QB / KN", these are some which I've added, what I want to do is replace the titles of those boxes which are in bold with the image strips.
    As I'm a beginner in actinic I need support to complete the project.
    Thanks.
    Click image for larger version

Name:	icon.jpg
Views:	1
Size:	91.6 KB
ID:	546435

The list of sections on the LHS is automatically maintained by Actinic. You can change this to be whatever you want such as a flash menu but it would need to be manually maintained if you change any section names or add/remove any sections in Actinic.

Note that by replacing the text with flash you also need consider the impact that this will have on the search engines.

To make the changes you are mentioning you will need to have a good grasp of the design side of Actinic, HTML and CSS. I suggest you backup your site and then start experimenting in the design side of Actinic. If you are not confident in your HTML and CSS skills then that would be the first thing to brush up on.

Comment

Yep, agree with Dunc

And don't forget if you replace text with flash you will lose the text for seo purposes and iPhone etc can't see flash

Comment

You can provide text for SEO (and iPhone!) purposes by inserting the Flash using the SWFObject method.