Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Shopping Cart on Store Pages

Hi,

I am trying to get a summary of the shopping cart to appear on the pages in our catalog. I have searched through the community for help on this and followed the instructions on page 31/32 of the Advanced User Guide, but do not seem to be getting any results. I have added the text below to my Act_Primary.html, template but am not sure if was the right thing to do.

<SCRIPT LANGUAGE="JavaScript" SRC="actinicextras.js" TYPE="text/javascript"></SCRIPT>

<span class="actxxsmall">
    <script language="JavaScript">

if (getCartItem(3) < 1)
    {
    document.write("Your cart is empty")
    }
    else
    {
    document.write("You have ordered ")
    document.write(getCartItem(3) + " item");

if (getCartItem(3) >1)
    {
    documment.write("s");
    }

document.write("<br> at a cost of " + getCartItem(1));
    }
    </script>
    </span>

Although I've been using Actinic for a couple of years now I am sorry to admit that I have real trouble getting to grips with the templates in Actinic. I really need to get my head round them though as we need to improve the layout and design of our site! So any advice would be much appreciated.

Tanya
    www.lochnessorigins.com

The line

<SCRIPT LANGUAGE="JavaScript" SRC="actinicextras.js"
    TYPE="text/javascript"></SCRIPT>

isn't needed in Act_primary.html (it should already be there near the top) so best delete it.

Now the remaining code should work as long as you've put it in a place where text will display. E.g. Somewhere in the <BODY..> . . . </BODY> and within a <TD> ... </TD> is usually correct.

To test it add some normal text before the <span class="actxxsmall">
    and after the </span>

E.g.

Hello
    <span class="actxxsmall">
    </span>
    there.

If you don't see "Hello There" on your pages then something fundamental is wrong.