Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Displaying sections and sub-sections horizontally.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Displaying sections and sub-sections horizontally.

I'm a designer using Actinic to build a store for a client. I haven't got much experience of using the software and I'm having trouble with the layout of the catalogue section links. I want the top level sections to display horizontally, one after the other. I realise this is easy enough to do by hand coding the links to the sections into the page. However, I also want the sub-sections to appear horizontally in table row beneath that of the top sections so whenever the user chooses a section the sub section links appear in a bar beneath that when the section page loads. I can find no way of doing this at the moment as so far I'm not sure whether it's possible to hand-code links into the individual pages other than the primary templates. Is there a way of doing this? Any advice would be appreciated!

Unless the site is small and the number of pages is fixed it's probably a good idea to try to avoid hand-coding.

However, if you have to, there's nothing to stop you using a different Primary Template (based on a common one) for every Page on your site. You can do this by selecting a Section and looking in Layout / Overall Layout, where you can either choose Use Parent or select any other Primary Template, including home-made ones.

As to your actual requirements it's a bit hard to tell from your description what you're trying to achieve. If you're able to post an image of a snippet of your Actinic section structure and the corresponding visual layout you'd like to generate that would help a lot.

Finally, Actinic can be asked to generate various JavaScript structures deescribing the entire section tree (or subsets of it). These can be used to automatically generate all sorts of alternative section navigation lists, but require reasonable JavaScript skills.