Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Possible bug with hierarchical import ?

Hi all,

I am new to Actinic and currently evaluating the "Actinic Developer" version.

I have been "ripping my hair out" for several days I think I may have discovered a bug and which I can reproduce on my own PC even using an export file created from within Actinic itself

I am importing a hierarchical file with each product in its own section and a duplicate product in the parent section of the real product (exactly like described in the knowledge base article http://knowledge.actinic.com/users/k...re.html#aCD526)

When I import my file for the first time - everything is as it should be, ie the products sitting in their own section and the duplicates in the "parent" - all the prices etc all are fine and the world is a wonderful place !

I then delete all the items and purge them from the database using Housekeeping -> Purge -> Purge content

The I try the import again using the SAME file and it :-

a) generates hundred of errors for "The price property is a duplicate"
    b) All sections and subsections do import OK..
    HOWEVER ....
    c) None of the product duplicates are imported
    d) None of the products are imported

I can repeat the "delete everything" -> purge multiple times and still get the same problems every time

However, (and this is the workaround) if I delete all the items, purge and then select Housekeeping -> Compact Databases -> Catalog

I can then import the same file with no problems at all

I think this is a bug - can any of you guys reproduce this problem ?

If I am doing something stupid then I would like to know what i am doing wrong.

If it is a bug then I thought it prudent to place on this forum to save others the frustration and days of "pain" wandering what is "wrong" with their hierarchical import files

Eternalnomad
    EternalNomad
    http://www.sharedpleasure.com
    Over 2000 items of Adult Toys, Tools, Lingerie, Books and Movies