X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Test site

Hi Community

PLEASE HELP

I have managed to design my site using Actining Catalogue and it's in the trial site http://trials.actinic.com/trials/trial23989/shop.html

I already have a website www.surbitonart.co.uk designd by someone longtime ago, now I like to test it in this place, but I don't know to setup a website without ruining my site. I have full access to my site, FTP and the rest,

Please someone tell me how do I go about setting up setting a test site. I have very little knowledge of this type of activity. What are the folders i need to have and how do I upload. I DO NOT WANT TO RUIN THE RUNNING SITE

Phillip

Hi Phillip,

I would ensure you have a full copy of the site as it is as the moment before undertaking any changes and save somewhere safe (cd/dvd).

As the old site is not running under Actinic you should be OK to upload as everything in Actinic goes into the /acatalog/ folder or into the /cgi-bin/ .... to keep you homepage simply tell Actinic not to use the "home" page in the content tree and under Design | Options | Misc tab set the URL to your exisiting homepage and upload.

That should keep the 2 sites running whilst you tweak the Actinic site before going live.

HTH

Bikster
    SellerDeck Designs and Responsive Themes

Comment

Many thanks

Is is posible to create nesessary folders and FTP the Actinic to the server. I am scared just in case actinic sending it to other folders. If so what are the folders I need to create and what are the items I need to send it up.

Regards

Phillip

Comment

You can't FTP outside of Actinic as it needs to compile and generate all the scripts before uploading.