Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Uploading your site .... when is the right time ?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Uploading your site .... when is the right time ?

I have been developing my site for 6 months plus now and still have not selected an ISP or generated the HTML and FTP'd it ?

What am I waiting for !!!

Not sure, lots of you seem to have uploaded what you have and still working on it, even thought the site is not functioning fully.

Q. Is there a way of stopping people getting peeed off with a semi-functioning site, and yet still uploading and therefore learning lots of other teething issues on the way, and begin page ranking ?

S.
    esafetysigns.co.uk
    your instant download portal for self printable health and safety signs and posters
    ... download once use as many times as you like !

http://www.esafetysigns.co.uk/index.html
    http://www.esafetysigns.co.uk/acatalog/index.html

I would upload a robots.txt file whch tells spiders not to index the site. Search within this forum for more info on robots.txt.

Also turn off online ordering , if people do find the site they still won't be able to order. Place a message on the front page, maybe also incorporate another message into the header/footer within actinic to tell peope the site is not yet operational

then you can upload and test without the fear of too many visitors.

and whilst your site is online you can start to develop you r linking strategy etc

Comment

Simon

You need to get picked up by the search engines ASAP as it can take months to get on some

Why not load up a simple site with a few products to start with and then modify it as you go

I dont see any point in delaying as your first few months are going to be very slow in sales anyway

What do you mean by "even thought the site is not functioning fully"
      Chris Ashdown

Comment

Chris/Jo,

Thanks, i will get on with it ...

1) I need an ISP ?