problems with smtp for 1and1 host server

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

problems with smtp for 1and1 host server

Hi I am very new to actinic software. I wonder if any of you good people out there can help me with a problem setting up e-mail on the catalogue.

I recently signed up to a 1and1 Linux hosting package. They state on there site that their e-mail settings are as follows:

Incoming server (IMAP) imap.1and1.co.uk | | Info
    Incoming server (POP) pop.1and1.co.uk | | Info
    Outgoing server (SMTP) auth.smtp.1and1.co.uk

In network settings it asks for "SMTP server" so that it can use the server to send various mails to you and your customers when a purchase is made. When i enter auth.smtp.1and1.co.uk an error message appears staying that it is not a valid server address. Just to clarify i have set up an admin e-mail that uses the same url as the acatalog website location.

I called customer services at "1and 1" and told them that actinic said that this is an invalid server address and they gave me the following details

SMTP server: smtp.1and1.co.uk
    mx00.1and1.co.uk
    mx01.1and1.co.uk

They said that the outgoing SMTP would definitely be one of the above addresses and that I would need to use the user name and password for the specific e-mail address that would receive the test mail.

I entered all there and keep receiving the same message:

"The computer you specified as your mail server is not a valid mail (SMTP) server. Check the computer name or address and try again. If it fails again, then it is possible, you were locked out by a firewall program, or you don't have network connection to this server".

Actinic Mail Test completed successfully
    server: passed
    connection: failed
    sockets: passed
    communications: failed
    authorisation: failed