Moving my shop onto a new computer

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Moving my shop onto a new computer

Hi all, OK Ive been using actinic v7 for a couple of years and just recently got a new computer, Im trying to transfer my website onto the new computer and managed to install the program but im finding it difficult to move the website over. I transfered the folder across into the "sites" folder but actinic just ignores it and starts up with the example site. How do I get actinic to identify and update with my website?
    I hope someone can help Im no computer expert but I have enough experience to get by,
    many thanks,

Drennen

Why don't you just Import you last Snapshot onto your new Computer?

Army Gore-tex
    Winter Climbing Mitts
    webD's Blog: Website design, SEO and other ramblings…
    Twitter LinkedIN

If you think a post is good, rate it!

Find the answers in the Knowledge Base | Have you read the User Guides

Comment

Snapshot alone should do it, but if (like me) you have non-actinic files in the site folder (ie from a larger website, only part of which is an Actinic shop) then you can license a new site in Actinic, call it the same as on the previous PC, then copy all the old files into the resulting site folder, then import the snapshot. This seems like a belt and braces approach but it seems to work.

Aquazuro - designer stainless steel accessories

Comment

OK tried to import the snapshot but comes up with "ActRegistryBackup.reg was not found" what am I missing?

Comment

Are you using excatly the same version of V7 on the new PC?

Comment

Yeh I think its v7.0.6 but its the same one as the original site, it seems as though its looking for ActRegistryBackup.reg in the site backups folder but there isnt one there, it could be theres a backup of some type which I havnt performed which would create that file but I dont know what that might be?

Comment

A copy of ActRegistryBackup.reg might be in a .zip file: