Sophisticated searching via formats?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Sophisticated searching via formats?

I am just beginning to trial Actinic Business for a site selling antiquarian books. Each product would have a product-name of, probably, the book’s author and title (assuming any character limit for this is pretty large) and the product description would be a composite field made up of publisher, year, general description, condition, etc details.

I understand it is possible to use html to format different elements of the product description in different ways, so that for example in the product-name the author details could be red and the book-title in blue and in the product-description the general description could be in roman and the publisher in italics (or perhaps a different font-size?)

My question is : would it be possible (and not too complex) to link these different formats to search-boxes in order to produce a more sophisticated search capability than is usual ? So that, the customer would be given three search-boxes for , say author, title and publisher to enter his search-terms in, and if he entered “Kipling” in the author-box and “Macmillan” in the publisher-box the only hits would be those where Kipling appeared in the (red) author-element and Macmillan appeared in the (italic) publisher-element (and not the other way round!)

If this idea doesn’t work is there an alternative way of achieving the same result?

Apologies if the answer is already somewhere on the forum and I have missed it.

wykbooks

Look at custom properties. This is all built-in to business.