Clean CSS, Theme or Design Wizard

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Clean CSS, Theme or Design Wizard

I have been using v7 for 12 months but have recently upgraded to V9 Business and am trying to get to grips with designing in V9 which is completely different.
    Hopefully if I spend enough time reading through the AUG and this forum it will start to make sense, but was ineterested to heat views of the other forum members on the best way forward bewteen.

I will be starting the design from scratch and I want a layout with section lists on the left and a horizontal nav bar at the top and cart contents in the top right corner and am hoping to use the CSS Designer mentioned by Gabe.
    Which is the easiest option which is also good for SEO.

Start with an existing theme such as "Reflective", a clean theme such as "Clean Layout 3", "Clean CSS" or use the design wizard, or does it not matter. I want to create a design that doesn't look like an unmodiifed Actinc install.
    Darren Guppy
    Golf Tee Warehouse
    Golf Tees and Golf Accessories.

I'd always start with a CSS theme as this means there is more CSS in the underlying layouts. Some themes are still heavy on tables so its better to kick these into touch before you start

Comment

How can I find out which themes are CSS themes.
      Are all the "Clean Layout 01-14" CSS based and what is the difference between the "Clean Layouts" and the "Clean CSS Layout"?
      Darren Guppy
      Golf Tee Warehouse

Comment

The CSS are marginally better for SEO but how to implement them depends on your level of HTML / CSS skill. The new design wizard works well if you are a n00b to coding. The clean CSS layouts (chose the one that is closest to your desired layout) are the best way forward if you are happy at hacking the CSS.

For ultimate control design your own and throw away most of the actinic CSS

Bikster
        SellerDeck Designs and Responsive Themes

Comment

Thanks for the replies.