Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Layout designs

Hi

I'm new to actinic and am working on our store design now. I am doing it in dreamweaver 8 and purely using CSS and javascript.

I was wondering if I only need to design a single layout or different ones for each page.

I am doing a 3 column fixed width design with a header. The left side is navigation, centre column is for actinic content and the right side for search and cart. I presume I can simply insert the search and cart variables in the boxes in this column?

Also, for the main content do I simply need to place the inner layout variable then do everything else in actinic?

Should I do all the links in actinic too or in dreamweaver?

Sorry for all the questions but still very new to all this.

Thanks in advance.

Jake
    Water is both ordered and flexible at the same time. It maintains its own identity, but conforms as necessary to the circumstances around it.

-Miyamoto Musashi - The Book of Five Rings

Jake
    Buy Fire Extinguishers
    Fire Extinguishers

Hi,

I was wondering if I only need to design a single layout or different ones for each page.
    If you want the same look on all of your pages then you only need to design a single layout but apply it to '<all selectors>'.

The left side is navigation, centre column is for actinic content and the right side for search and cart. I presume I can simply insert the search and cart variables in the boxes in this column?
    That's right.

Also, for the main content do I simply need to place the inner layout variable then do everything else in actinic?
    Yes, although if you then wanted to change the layout of your products you can choose a layout within Actinic and then 'Edit the layout in Dreamweaver' if you wish

Should I do all the links in actinic too or in dreamweaver?