Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Extended info page found in Google search

Hi

I have tried to find if this has been answered bwfore honest! but if its there I couldnt see it.

I was pleased to see one of my products was coming up on page one of Google, however I was dissapointed to find it was the extended info page, so it shows an image of the product and hitting back just takes you back to the Google search.

So I disable the extended info page, now I have a broken link.

So how do I stop Google finding the extended info pages & how do I make Google forget about the old link.

You can see from the question that I am no expert. Any suggestions appreciated.

Derwent

You need a robots.txt file...... uploaded to your site with ftp.....

Search for instructions then it needs to say something like

Code:
    User-agent: *

Disallow: acatalog/info_*
    see here
    Paul
    Flower-Stands.co.uk - the UK's largest online supplier of Fresh Flower Merchandising Stands

Using V10.2 with Norman's brilliantly simple TABBER.

Comment

You have a result on page 1 of Google, the place that most people spend their life trying to achieve and you want to remove it, in the hope that Google replaces it with another page that you are happy for them to put there? That sounds like a pretty 'out there' plan. Instead of trying to remove a page that has been ranked well (bearing in mind you do not choose which pages are ranked well), why not look to enhance that page instead, so that people can move through your site from it and you can hopefully retain your ranking.

In addition look into why that page ranked well, learn from it and use that for further improvements. If you are going to use extended info pages, it's not a clever idea to block them from being spidered, unless you have some really specific reasons, which it does not sound like you have.