Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Changing the appearance of the site

Hi,
    I am still relatively new to Actinic and am not sure how all the different aspects link together and which bits i can change without upsetting what i have already done.
    More specifically:
    I selected 'Clean layout 9' before starting to add products.
    If i change the layout (theme?) now to ,say 'Clean layout 14', will i lose any data?.

I would like to see what the site would look like with a bar down both sides of the page rather than just on the left.

Thats the end of that bit.

More specifically again.
    1) I want to add an image to the left hand bar and i want to have a list of links to sections, on the bar, that stay in the same position on all the pages (Product, Checkout, View cart etc) if possible. How can do i do that?.
    2) This is probably not an actinic specific question; how do i change the look of the buttons (the grey 'steel' navigation buttons that say 'products', 'More' etc) ie , how do i create new buttons?.
    cheers
    John
    Last edited by john goodstar; 17-Dec-2005, 02:57 PM. Reason: oops -

Applying a new theme will not lose any date - it just replaces the Act_Templates which style the layout - the data is held in the actinic database. Best to always do a snapshot of the site before doing any major template changes - when you make the theme change you will get the option to make a back up of the exisiting theme in case you don't like the new one.

To add a new image to the page you will need to add the image into the main templaes ie Act_Primary.html, Act_PrimaryCheckout.html and Act_BrochurePrimary.html .. these can be found in the root of the Site1 folder.

As for changing the buttons I am not familiar with that theme but it may be one of the themes where the buttons are fixed to the template. Maybe someone else can clarify that for you

Bikster
    SellerDeck Designs and Responsive Themes

Comment