Wizard use, cgi-bin locations, settings

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Wizard use, cgi-bin locations, settings

I'm setting up my first site after purchasing Actinic 7. I have a virtual server multi-domain account with Interland.com on an Apache server. I'm still new at Unix, but am learning.

When I use my Interland Admin interface to create a site (frogazon.com) on the virtual server and add cgi-bin, it puts the cgi-bin foldler one level up from the main site folder and it is assigned a 775. For example, on the server the site is located at /usr/local/www/vhosts/frogazon.com/htdocs and the cgi-bin folder is at /usr/local/www/vhosts/frogazon.com/cgi-bin.

When I try using the Actinic Advanced Network Setup Wizard and give it the site URL, it doesn't find this automatically generated cgi-bin folder. I can manually add a cgi-bin to the main site (/usr/local/www/vhosts/frogazon.com/htdocs/cgi-bin) and give it 775, and Actinic finds it and continues with testing.

After a few minutes, I get this error message:
    The specified CGI-BIN URL or possibly the path to the CGI-BIN is not correct. Check the CGI-BIN URL and try again. If the CGI-BIN is correct, return to the first page of the wizard and turn on the button to confirm each setting. Then progress through the dialogs once again and verify that he path to the cgi-bin is also correct. The web server returned (404) Not Found.
    I've done the processes that the error message suggests and nothing changes. I enter the cgi-bin location as http://www.frogazon.com/cgi-bin

When I look in the cgi-bin folders, the /usr/local/www/vhosts/frogazon.com/cgi-bin location has no files. The /usr/local/www/vhosts/frogazon.com/htdocs/cgi-bin has one file - ActinicBasicCgiTest.pl

In my server setup, there is a configuration file called vhost.conf that includes the following line as part of the Virtual Host settings for frogazon.com:

ScriptAlias /cgi-bin /usr/local/www/vhosts/frogazon.com/cgi-bin