How to stop robots spamming my contact form

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

How to stop robots spamming my contact form

I have for the last few weeks been getting more and more spam from robots filling out my contact form. It started out slow with maybe 5 or 6 a day, now the floods started. So what can I do to stop this without loosing the ability for real people to actually send me an email?

I'm not a programmer and can barely handle dealing with Html. This is the main reason I choose actinic in the first place. I've spent the last few days trying to find a solution, and the ones i found are all to complicated for me to work out how to implement into actinic. So please if you can help keep solutions to not much more complicated than cutting and pasting some stuff into the design pages of actinic. If you have an answer please give me instruction like I'm an idiot.

I use actinic catalogue V9.

Thanks in advance.

Samuel, have a read of this

Comment

I did read it but it didn't seem to work and i assumed it was out of date.

an example of the porblem is because there was no line like this on my page.
      <form method="post" action="<Actinic:Variable Name="SendMailPageURL"/>">

the closest i could find was
      <input type="submit" name="ACTION" value="<Actinic:Variable Name="MailFormSendButton"/>" />

this is just one example. much of what written doesnt match with my versio and it also told me there was a java error on the page.

When tried to work around this I got a small box showing, but no captcha image and pressing the send button worked anyway without putting anything in the box.

So maybe it needs a full update for V9 and idiots like myself.

Comment

The method linked to in post #2 is fully functioning in V9. I know because I've used it.

The form tag will be nearer the top of your contact form layout than the input tag you've found.