how to live together in harmony

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

how to live together in harmony

I've started this thread as I'd like to see some dialog between developers and end users to establish requirements and solutions.

I felt for Mark (in the other thread) when he had a client desparate for help, but was unable to personally deal with the issue at that very precise moment. These time related conflicts happen all the time.

I'd like to put forward a few issues I struggle with and get some feedback from end users.

As a developer I feel that it important for clients to have a grasp of the software they are using, and to take ownership. I get very fed up when clients who are running ecommerce sites say they have no interest in learning how (for example) to set up an email account. Yet they allow their business to hinge on this important feature, with no inhouse support to do basic troubleshooting.

Its the same throughout the whole question of using computers, no-one would dream of driving a car without taking a driving lesson, but no-one wants to take time for training to allow themselves and their staff to properly utilise the very powerful piece of machinery on their desk.

Am I being unrealistic to hope for clients to be a little more responsible for their IT.